Using mouse clicks as inputs for neuroscience experiment?

NeuroSpace

Hello everyone!

I'm a complete VBA noob and I'm looking for a way to use Excel macros to allow me to do a neuroscience experiment for my graduate course.

What I need is simple, but I don't know how to execute it or whether it is possible at all, so I was wondering if you guys could help me out.

For my experiment, subjects will be turning around in a special chair with their eyes closed, and will tell me when they think they moved a quarter turn. I thought it would be neat to have a way of recording their input with a wireless mouse attached to the spinning chair.
So basically what I need is a way for, say, left mouse clicks to consecutively input a timestamp in a column in Excel.

Does it make any sense to do this in Excel?

Please if you have any questions fire away!

Excel Facts

What is the last column in Excel?
Excel columns run from A to Z, AA to AZ, AAA to XFD. The last column is XFD.
trapping the left mouse clicks is better but harder to code - A simpler solution is to trap the Right mouse clicks via the native Worksheet BeforeRightClick event

Something like along these lines maybe :

Right click the active worksheet tab , select View Code and place the following in the worksheet module white pane :

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_BeforeRightClick(ByVal Target As Range, Cancel As Boolean)
    Cancel = True
    Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Offset(1) = Format(Now, "HH:MM:SS")
End Sub

Upvote 0
Mike, thank you for your feedback, I will look into your suggestion as a back up option.

trapping the left mouse clicks is better but harder to code - A simpler solution is to trap the Right mouse clicks via the native Worksheet BeforeRightClick event
[/CODE]

Jaafar, thank you very much, this gets the job pretty much done!