Using VBA Excel to Export Data to 'JobBOSS' (Sql Server Database)

killpaddy

Board Regular
Hello,

I am very new to VBA and computer Database programming in general, so any information or guidance would be appreciated.

I have got an Excel Stocklist with flieds: Article Name, Description, QTY and Tray

I am hoping to upload just the QTY column to the 'JobBOSS' Database and update the value there using a key field such as Article Name. The programme CANNOT replace as this could affect/ delete the other fields in JobBOSS such as 'price'.

I think the JobBOSS database is Sql, though im not entirely sure what this means

I have thought about using the 'Get External Data' function in excel to begin with to retrieve the data from JobBOSS and then edit it, however i dont know if this is possible in the VBA editor.

I realise this is vauge, but any information would be useful at this stage

Thanks,

Killpaddy

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
This is a pretty tall order for someone new to both VBA and databases, though it's not difficult once you know what you are doing.

The way I would do this is create a temp table in the database, with two fields (Article Name, Quantity). This part has nothing to do with Excel.

Set up your Excel sheet to only have two columns, Article and Quantity

Now the macro starts:

1. Using ADO, clear the temp table in the database
2. Read the two columns of Excel data into an array in VBA
3. Create an ADO recordset of the blank temp table
4. Loop through the array, adding each row to the recordset
5. Using ADO, run a SQL Update query on the database, joining the temp table with the main table you are trying to update.

You're probably wondering what ADO is. It is Microsoft's technology for working with databases in code. If you google it you will get lots of hits.