Using VBA to search for search for a specific Class Element in DOM

VickyAlice100

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi all,

I’m fairly new to VBA and I’ve been struggling to write some coding that would search webpage’s DOM for a specific named class element and confirm if it is present or absent in the DOM. I don’t need to import any data from the webpage, I just need the code to check if the class element is present and return a ’yes’ or ‘no’ value into the spreadsheet.

Any ideas how this might be done?

Thanks in advance for any help ?

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
Welcome to MrExcel forums.

The basic code would be:
VBA Code:
Public Sub IE_Find_Class()

Dim IE As Object
    Dim classElement As Object

Set IE = CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")
    With IE
        .Visible = True
        .navigate "https://www.mrexcel.com/board/forums/excel-questions.10/"        'CHANGE URL
        While .Busy Or .readyState <> 4: DoEvents: Wend
    End With

Set classElement = IE.document.getElementsByClassName("structItem-title")(0)    'CHANGE CLASS NAME
    If Not classElement Is Nothing Then
        ActiveSheet.Range("A1").Value = "yes"
    Else
        ActiveSheet.Range("A1").Value = "no"
    End If

End Sub
which searches this forum for elements with the class name "structItem-title". Change the URL and class name as required.

The macro could be changed to a UDF with a few changes.

Upvote 0
Hi John,

Thanks so much for this.

I've tried using the code and most of it seems to work, except the line where it should check if the element is present or not on the page. For some reason, that's not working. I've tried tinkering about, but I've not had any luck.

Here's what I've written so far (I've removed the website link):

VBA Code:
Sub Browsetosite()

Dim IE As New SHDocVw.InternetExplorer