Using Vlookup to add up several rows

howard

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
5,600
I need to look up various types of Depreciation , where the values are in column 105 (Col DL) and the decriptions are in col L

I have tried to use the following formula to add all the various depreciation types in Col 105, but cannot get it to add the values


=IF(A69=(RIGHT(A69,50)),VLOOKUP("*Depreciation*",Sheet1!$L$1512:$DL$1783,105,FALSE))

The various types of depreciation are:

DEPRECIATION-COMPUTER EQUIP
DEPRECIATION Corp Signage
DEPRECIATION-P & M
DEPRECIATION-F & F
DEPRECIATION-OE

your assistance will be most appreciated
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type

Robert Mika

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
7,256
Try this
=SUMIF(L1512:L1783,"*DEPRECIATION*",DL1512:DL1783)

as a part of your formula.
 

howard

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
5,600
Hi Robert

Thanks for the help. The formula works perfectly. However, the values must allways refer to Col DL. Each month a new col is inserted and the values are copied into Col DL. How do I overcome this?
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,192
Hi Robert

Thanks for the help. The formula works perfectly. However, the values must allways refer to Col DL. Each month a new col is inserted and the values are copied into Col DL. How do I overcome this?
Try...

=SUMIF(L1512:L1783,"*DEPRECIATION*",INDIRECT("DL1512:DL1783"))
 

howard

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
5,600

ADVERTISEMENT

Hi Aladin

Thanks for the help, which is much appreciated. What is the purpose of the indirect function i.e how does it work?

Regards

Howard
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,192
Hi Aladin

Thanks for the help, which is much appreciated. What is the purpose of the indirect function i.e how does it work?

Regards

Howard
The string it embeds cannot change during copying, etc. INDIRECT resoves the range behind that unchanging string. This enables us to anchor the reference into a fixed address.
 

howard

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
5,600

ADVERTISEMENT

Hi Aladin

Thanks for the explanation.
 

LearnMeExcel

Well-known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2009
Messages
728
Hi Aladin
i want to ask u
when i remove the " " from Indirect function it is return Error , why ?
Code:
=SUMIF($L$1512:$L$1521,"*DEPRECIATION*",INDIRECT(DL1512:DL1521))
 

Aladin Akyurek

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Feb 14, 2002
Messages
85,192
Hi Aladin
i want to ask u
when i remove the " " from Indirect function it is return Error , why ?
Code:
=SUMIF($L$1512:$L$1521,"*DEPRECIATION*",INDIRECT(DL1512:DL1521))
INDIRECT expects a string, not a range. Thus, this function resolves a string to a range whose values it makes available. When given a range, it has nothing to resolve, hence the error.
 

Subscribe on YouTube

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,106,404
Messages
5,511,156
Members
408,828
Latest member
Csmnvld

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Turn fraction around
    Hello I need to turn a fraction around, for example I have 1/3 but I need to present as 3/1
  • TIme Clock record reformatting to ???
    Hello All, I'd like some help formatting this (Tbl-A)(Loaded via Power Query) [ATTACH type="full" width="511px" alt="PQdata.png"]22252[/ATTACH]...
  • TextBox Match
    hi, I am having a few issues with my code below, what I need it to do is when they enter a value in textbox8 (QTY) either 1,2 or 3 the 3 textboxes...
  • Using Large function based on Multiple Criteria
    Hello, I can't seem to get a Large formula to work based on two criteria's. I can easily get a oldest value based one value, but I'm struggling...
  • Can you check my code please
    Hi, Im going round in circles with a Compil Error End With Without With Here is the code [CODE=rich] Private Sub...
  • Combining 2 pivot tables into 1 chart
    Hello everyone, My question sounds simple but I do not know the answer. I have 2 pivot tables and 2 charts that go with this. However I want to...
Top