V Look Up to the Left Side

shaftdx

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2011
Platform
  1. MacOS
Good Morning all.

I am still learning the intricacies of V Look up and am very excited about the possibilities i can utilize it for. Is there a away I can have it pull info from the left of the column I need? or is it only to the right? I am pulling things that have to be in a certain order in the main spreadsheet so I can format it to update to a CBV Calendar.

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
No you cant with vlookup. You will need xlookup or if you dont have it then index/match combo.

Upvote 0
You can use INDEX and MATCH to lookup left side

Upvote 0
Solution
@shaftdx

I suggest that you update your Account details (or click your user name at the top right of the forum) so helpers always know what Excel version(s) & platform(s) you are using as the best solution often varies by version. (Don’t forget to scroll down & ‘Save’)

Upvote 0
@shaftdx

I suggest that you update your Account details (or click your user name at the top right of the forum) so helpers always know what Excel version(s) & platform(s) you are using as the best solution often varies by version. (Don’t forget to scroll down & ‘Save’)
Ok done. I left it blank before only because I have a work computer and a home one with 2 different versions of Excel I will just have to specify from now on when I am at home and that version when I have a problem there. Thank you for the help!

Upvote 0
Thanks for updating your profile. (y)
I have a work computer and a home one with 2 different versions of Excel
You can mark multiple versions in your Account details. However, you are right in that you may need to specify which version you are wanting help with each time.

Upvote 0
Good Morning all.