Variable Table Range Definition in VBA

londonparisrome

I am self-taught in VBA, so my apologies if this is an easy question. I am trying to reset data in the first column of a table to "Y". The current table location is rows 16-246, but I would like the user to be able to expand that, as needed, so I need the row numbers to be variable. I was able to create the variable range on the spreadsheet in cell X2, so it contains "(B16:B246)", and it will grow or shrink based on the rows in the table. Is there a way to reference cell X2 in my code for the range, or am I going about it the wrong way?

Private Sub Reset_Click()
' Replace column B with Y
ActiveSheet.Range("B16:B246").Value = "Y"
End Sub

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
Are you dealing with an actual table?

If you are there are various ways you can refer to a column in the table.
VBA Code:
Sheets("Sheet1").ListObjects("Table1").ListColumns("Field1").DataBodyRange.Value = "Y"

Upvote 0
Are you dealing with an actual table?

If you are there are various ways you can refer to a column in the table.
VBA Code:
Sheets("Sheet1").ListObjects("Table1").ListColumns("Field1").DataBodyRange.Value = "Y"
Yes. It's a table

I must be doing something wrong in the syntax. I keep getting an error. I have tried the following options. I am in Sheet 10, and the table name is combined:

ActiveSheet.ListObjects("Combined").ListColumns(2).DataBodyRange.Value = "Y"

ActiveSheet.ListObjects("Combined").ListColumns("Field2").DataBodyRange.Value = "Y"

Sheets("Sheet10").ListObjects("Combined").ListColumns("Field2").DataBodyRange.Value = "Y"

Upvote 0
What's the error, where are you putting the code and what's the column name?

Upvote 0
Thanks for your help. I received the following error:

1605742638014.png

1605742664793.png

Upvote 0