VBA code for Names

breechd

I am new to Visual Basic. I am, however, an old programmer. I have used RPG, Fortran, Pascal, Cobol...

I have completed one project in VBA and am now tweaking that code for my next project which is very similar. I just need to know how names of persons are reflected in the code. I need to compare the names on a number of sheets to a master spreadsheet and have them upload into the appropriate row for that person.

Any ideas? Thanks! Deb

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.
Deb,

If you are trying to reference within the same workbook, you could use a lookup function to grab the data you need. *unless I am misunderstanding the issue - which is possible*

Upvote 0
Using Find, as a method of a range (or of Cells, being all the cells on a worksheet, or the range that is the whole worksheet), is another option. It's not intuitive at first but there is a good example in the Excel help (along with FindNext, which completes the picture if the name might exist more than once).

Upvote 0
Thank you for the helpful suggestions. I believe the find using range is going to work for this project. I do have the names appearing on multiple sheets, but only in one cell on each sheet. I will be back to ask additional questions if it doesn't work as I anticipate. D

Upvote 0
Question regarding the same project. I am receiving a run time error '13' Type mismatch. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Here is the code for one sheet...

Option Explicit

Public Function ProcessSheet()

Dim lngRow As Long
Dim lngColumn As Long

For lngRow = 1 To 32
If Sheet1.Cells(lngRow, 1) <> "" And Sheet1.Cells(lngRow, 2) <> "" Then
If Not Module1.AddValue(strItem:=Sheet1.Cells(lngRow, 2), lngScore:=Sheet1.Cells(lngRow, 3)) Then
MsgBox "An error resulted in trying to add this value", vbCritical, "Error"
End If
End If
Next lngRow
End Function