VBA code to open IE and switch to new tab

cb366374

Board Regular
I am stuck...obviously. I was tasked with gathering some data on a long list of companies for my supervisor (I'm a grad assistant) from a messy website (i.e. no specific URLs for each report). I wrote a "simple" program to open internet explorer, navigate through a disclaimer page, change the value of a drop-down, wait for the page to automatically update, then click a link that launches a report. My plan was to simply copy the page that is launched and paste it into a worksheet and find the relevant data I need after that. The website turned out to be a nightmare but I managed to launch the report I had specified. However, the report is launched in a new tab and I have no idea how to navigate there.

From what I have read I believe I need to re-write the code using a shell extension but I have no experience with this and was hoping someone could help. I could probably figure it out eventually by teaching myself some of this new programming but it seems like a large task to complete before Monday (spreadsheet is due). Also, this will be a one-time assignment so I'm looking for something as simple as possible and all the other examples seem too complicated. My current code is below. I have hacked it to pieces trying to figure this out so my apologies for messy code. The shell is my main issue but if someone also has a suggestion gathering the information from the final report more efficiently, I would love suggestions. Thanks in advance.

FYI...
Windows 7, Excel 2010, Internet Explorer 9

Code:
Sub gather()
'
    Dim ie As Object
    Dim ElementCol As Object
    Dim btnInput As Object
    Dim linkElement As Object
    Dim Link As Object
    Dim wait As Long
    Dim i As Integer
    Dim compCode As String
    Set ie = CreateObject("internetexplorer.application")

ie.Visible = True
    ie.navigate "https://i-site.naic.org/grid/gridDisc.jsp"

While ie.Busy
        DoEvents
    Wend