VBA Code to Total Sections with Varying Number of Rows

Sawyer84

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I would REALLY like some help with creating a code for section totals and then another code that adds a ‘total’ row. I just started learning about Macros and VBA codes last week, so this is all pretty new and a little overwhelming to me. I apologize in advance for the long description, it’s hard to explain verbally, let alone capture in words

For the section totals, those formulas need to go in columns G/I/K/N in the highlighted and bold rows. The problem is, there could be 1 section, or up to 5 or 6 sections, each having a different number of rows. For example, I would like the section total formula in cells G3/I3/K3/N3 to total up the rows below (items 20/30/40), but stop at the last part number before the next section. I would like to do the same for all sections and option sections, rental sections don’t have to have totals.

There will always be at least 1 section and 1 option section in each quote.

I added ‘higher level item’ data in column Q. I don’t currently have that information pulling in, but I can if it will make this easier. The ‘higher level item’ will identify which section parts belong to in a quote. For example, Section A in Quote 1 is Item 10, so every part in Section A will have a higher level item of 10. As you can see Quote 4 also has a Section A that is item 10. Part of the VBA code I currently have will insert 2 rows between quote numbers that are different, so hopefully that helps too.

For the total row, I would like to insert 2 rows above the first option section in each quote. In the first row that was inserted is where I would like ‘total’ in column D with right aligned. I would like the total formulas in columns G/I/K/N to add up the section totals.

1665097224648.png

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?