VBA - copy and paste data to different tabs based on specific criteria

SRokov

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
I'm new to VBA so please be nice :)

I am trying to figure out how to write a macro that would copy and paste data based on a specific criteria to a specific workbook starting in a specific cell. For example, per below how would I write a code to copy Type A data to Sheet A starting at Cell A5 in Sheet A and also copy Type B data to Sheet B starting at Cell A5 in Sheet B? Can this be done using only one macro?

Using the recorder I am able to do each separate; however my actual data set requires upwards of 15 copy and pastes to different workbooks so running a separate macro for each is a little tedious.

Thanks!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2022-04-05 at 3.49.54 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-04-05 at 3.49.54 PM.png
    150.5 KB · Views: 18

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest
Hi, I was able to create a macro based on your request. You have a section for you to add sheet name's and the keyword to search, just follow the pattern. It then calls a private macro that does the actually copying of data.

VBA Code:
Option Explicit
    Dim lastRow As Long, nextRow As Long, i As Long, h As Long, wb As Workbook
    Dim main As Worksheet, sheetLetter As Worksheet, findWord As String, shName As String

Sub forSheets_To_Loop()

shName = "Sheet A"
    findWord = "A"
    Call Copy_Data

shName = "Sheet B"
    findWord = "B"
    Call Copy_Data

shName = "Sheet C"
    findWord = "C"
    Call Copy_Data

End Sub

Private Sub Copy_Data()
    Set wb = ThisWorkbook
    Set main = wb.Sheets("Data")
    Set sheetLetter = wb.Sheets(shName)

lastRow = main.Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row         'Find the lastRow
    nextRow = sheetLetter.Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row  'Find the lastRow if Headers are