VBA Creating a Collection in a Class Module

drj30026abanba

Board Regular
Hi this is my first time posting on this forum so I hope I am putting this in the right place. I am currently reading MrExcel's "VBA and Macros: Microsoft Excel 2013" and I am having trouble understanding a section in chapter 9 called "Creating a Collection in a Class Module".

Earlier in the chapter a custom object called clsEmployee was created. A class module is then inserted and renamed clsEmployees. Then a private collection is declared in the class module

Code:
Private AllEmployees As New Collection

After that, a few methods are created. Here is one of them

Code:
Public Sub Add(recEmployee As clsEmployee)

AllEmployees.Add recEmployee, recEmployee.EmpID

End Sub

Later in this section, a procedure in a standard module is written to use this collection. It is instantiated like this

Code:
Dim colEmployees as New clsEmployees

and later on the add method is used:

Code:
colEmployees.Add recemployee

I don't understand why clsEmployees is the name being used to instantiate colEmployees. That is the name of the class module just created. Is the name of the class module always used to instantiate? Why isn't AllEmployees declared Public and used since it is how all the methods are defined?

I don't get why AllEmployees is Private. Also, I don't understand how clsEmployees is related to AllEmployees. AllEmployees looks like a dummy variable but I don't understand how VBA knows that.

I guess my main question is this: When creating a collection with a class module, how is the name of the class module related to the private declaration of a collection?

Last edited:

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest
It's not. The collection name can be anything you like as can the class name.

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Forum.