VBA delete row with multiple criteria using wildcards

Cobolt78

Office Version
  1. 2019
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi, I am very new at excel and vba and have been looking for a macro that will search for partial matches using wildcards and delete rows in column k. I found a macro that works well with multiple criteria but the macro has to match the cell exactly.
Let me explain with an example, I have a sheet that I import data from a report. I have column k with 20,000 plus rows and a lot of cells in column k have useless information I wish to remove such as "*superseded* xyz abc" and *superseded* bla bla bla" and "*inactive* xyz abc" and "*inactive* bla bla bla" and "*defunct* xyz abc" and "*defunct* bla bla bla". The *superseded*, *inactive* and *defunct* have up to 20-30 different types of text after them so it makes it a tedious process to copy and paste them all into my current vba macro. Is there a way to just search and delete rows with the key words *superseded*, *inactive* and *defunct*? I would also like it to be dynamic so I can add more criteria later like a keyword "*remove*"
I don't need any other data in the rows with the key words so deleting the whole row is fine.
Hopefully I have explained myself properly.

Thanks in advance

Ok, how about
VBA Code:
Sub Cobalt()
   Dim Ary As Variant
   Dim i As Long

Ary = Array( "superseded", "inactive", "CO Fatigue" )
   With Sheets("Compliance").ListObjects("Table_RawReport_PSC_NEW").ListColumns("Entity Title")
      For i = 0 To UBound(Ary)
         .Range.Replace "*" & Ary(i) & "*", True, xlWhole, , False, , False, False
      Next i
      Intersect(.Parent.DataBodyRange, .Range.SpecialCells(xlConstants, xlLogical).EntireRow).Delete
   End With
End Sub

Thank you so much, this worked a treat. I greatly appreciate the time you diverted into helping me and I hope this helps someone else in the future.

Upvote 0

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year