VBA Error 1004 when trying to put equals sign in cell value

YungRichSavage

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
5
Im trying to do something like this

"om" is the if formula but in my language

Range("f3").Value = "=OM(+'1'!H3=0;"";+'1'!H3)"

and for some reason i get the 1004 application or object defined error

when i do this the first line of code works but the same error appers on the next line, why?

Range("f3").Value = "OM(+'1'!H3=0;"";+'1'!H3)"
Range("f3").Value = "=" & Range("f3").Value
 

Sixthsense

Active Member
Joined
Nov 19, 2012
Messages
385
Change this

Code:
Range("f3").Value = "=" & Range("f3").Value
To

Code:
Range("f3").Value = Range("f3").Formula
 

steve the fish

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2009
Messages
7,792
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Hi. When you say this works:

Range("f3").Value = "OM(+'1'!H3=0;"";+'1'!H3)"

Take a look at it on the spreadsheet. You will notice that the pair of inverted commas, "", is no longer "" but ". For that to work correctly in a string you need to use """" not "".
 

MrIfOnly

Active Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
489
You can also use:


Code:
Range("f3").Value = "=OM(+'1'!H3=0;" & Chr(34) & Chr(34) & ";+'1'!H3)"
Regards,

CJ
 

YungRichSavage

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
5
Still doesn't work,
Code:
Range("f3").Value = "OM(+'1'!H3=0;"""";+'1'!H3)"
        Range("f3").Value = Range("f3").Formula
still just appears as a string, no equals sign or anything

I have to fill about 4000 cells with formulas so really want to figure this out :)
 

YungRichSavage

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
5


Both of theese genreate the error



and this adds ' instead of =
 

steve the fish

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2009
Messages
7,792
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Try using commas instead of semi colons. I cant test as i dont use a foreign language version.

Code:
Range("f3").Formula = "=OM(+'1'!H3=0,"""",+'1'!H3)"
Other than that record putting the formula in the cell and look what the recorder produces.
 

YungRichSavage

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2017
Messages
5
Ok thanks recording the macro solved it.
I had to use IF instead of OM

Should have figured that out earlier
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,082,133
Messages
5,363,341
Members
400,729
Latest member
Lisa McConachy

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top