VBA - Excel Data Treatement across multiple sheets

Satamanster

Good morning everyone! I know the text is long but please don't leave just yet. Please keep with me and be patient, I'm a newbie, on the community and on excel!

I have this project that I could really use some inputs on how to achieve it (logic, algorithm and code-wise).
I have two Excel files that work as daily logs for two facilities I run. Each contains Operator Name, Job Type and Time on Position. They are named as 'DATE'_'FACILITY'. Note that an operator may leave is job and come back later on the same day wich will result on a new entry.

I'm in charge of, every day get the data of those two logs and insert them in a protime file that consists on JOB1,JOB2,etc as sheets and for each, lines are the dates and columns are the operator name.
I want to develop a solution that makes this automatic for me.

My general idea for this would be a script that asks me for a date and than based on that, get values from the log files and insert them in the protime sheet.

Basically my approach would be:

Code:
    "Get Date from User"
    From File 'DATE'_'FACILITY'
     For each line
       Get Operator Name, Get JobType, Get time
    In File Pro_time
     Go to JobType Sheet
     Cell(Date,Operator Name).Insert_Value
Honestly everytime I start a VBA/ Excel Automation project I always run a little bit blind, because I don't have VBA knowledge and it's a little by trial and error based on my needs.

So what do you guys think? Is this doable in the way I'm thinking? Also, can I write the script in so it run without have to open the files? Like a shortcut on desktop that works as a vba standalone script?
I'm thinking of later adding a progress bar and an output userform with details such as JOB1 Total : x Hours, etc but for now functionality is key.
Any comments, suggestions and solutions would be much appreciated. Thanks for your help in advance.

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?