VBA extracting MS Word Form Data into Excel Table

nadair1

Good afternoon. I've read through the forum rules, and I'm hoping this thread makes the cut. I'm a newbie here, so I'd appreciate your input.

I lead a nonprofit, and I'm trying to research other similar nonprofits. I have a file folder with 64 docx files that summarize each nonprofit, all provided to me by an association of which my organization is a member. I want to pull the same blocks of information from each of these 64 documents into an excel spreadsheet, and organize it into a spreadsheet. Each organization's filename contains their region and name. Here's an example: "North America-Shelter and Rain.docx". I will then use this spreadsheet to start adding columns as I go about my research.

Fortunately, most all of the documents have standardized sections where each nonprofit has entered information about their organization, such as the organization's name, focus of the organization, etc. There's a few nonprofits that have slightly different versions of the same form, whereby some of the standard fields are missing. There are no tables, graphics, etc. -- just simple text fields and text entries.

I've created an exhaustive list of the fields below (all fields are preceded by a colon in the Word docs)...

• Name of Organization:
  • Founder(s) and year of founding organization:
  • Director(s):
  • e-mail:
  • telephone:
  • Country(s) where your organization is located:
  • Address of organization:
  • Telephone number(s):
  • e-mail:
  • web-site:
  • In 3 sentences or less, what is the major focus of your organization?
  • To what organizations are you related or by whom are you sponsored?
  • How many are on your staff?
  • Indigenous:
  • Foreign:
  • What are your dreams for your ministry?
  • Do you need (or want) volunteers? If so, to do what?

I'm using the 2016 versions of Excel and Word. Here's the filepath where the docx files reside: C:\Users\noah\Desktop\Organizations