VBA Find Last Row and Insert Empty Row Below but Keep Drop-Downs

dd04518

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I have a spreadsheet that has multiple columns with drop-downs as well as data formatting for numbers. I need to have a macro that I can assign a button to that will find the last row with data and then insert an empty row beneath it but keep the drop-downs for the columns and the formatting of the data types in the cells. The sheet has 19 columns. I'm very new to VBA coding. I searched the forum for a thread but didn't find what I needed. Thank you.

Excel Facts

Difference between two dates
Secret function! Use =DATEDIF(A2,B2,"Y")&" years"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"YM")&" months"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"MD")&" days"
Why would you insert a blank row where the row beneath the last row of data is already blank? To get the last row of a particular column, say column C, then
VBA Code:
Dim nextEmptyRow As Long
nextEmptyRow = ActiveSheet.Cells(Row.Count, 3).End(xlUp)(2).Row
To get the last row of all the columns
VBA Code:
Dim nextEmptyRowOnSheet As Long
nextEmptyRowOnSheet = ActiveSheet.Cells.Find("*", , xlValues, xlPart, xlByRows, xlPrevious).Row

Upvote 0
The sheet is to track wounds monthly. Every month a new sheet will be created in the workbook using a button. The button will copy over the current sheet contents and then delete any "Healed" wounds from the new sheet. When I put formulas in for calculations I ran the formulas down to row 735 and so when the new sheet is copied over and then rows are deleted, I run out of rows that have drop-downs and formulas in them. I may have built it wrong??

Upvote 0
If you change the parameter xlValues to xlFormulas as shown below, then this one would get the last row below your formulas and dropdowns.

VBA Code:
Dim nextEmptyRowOnSheet As Long
nextEmptyRowOnSheet = ActiveSheet.Cells.Find("*", , xlFormulas, xlPart, xlByRows, xlPrevious).Row + 1

Upvote 0