VBA help, creating a macro!!

mccaco

Hi I want to create a button on an Excel spreadsheet which will go into a folder, open up the most recent excel file. Add together several cells in that file (B12,B13,B14,I8,I13) then display the answer in the spreadsheet which contains the button (in cell J3).

I've already started the code and i've managed to open up the most recent file in the folder. As I am new to VBA I am struggling to finish off the second half of the code.

I will be grateful for anyones help.

Excel Facts

Formula for Yesterday
Name Manager, New Name. Yesterday =TODAY()-1. OK. Then, use =YESTERDAY in any cell. Tomorrow could be =TODAY()+1.
Welcome to the Board!

Why don't you paste the code that you have so far, and we'll see if we can build off of that?

Upvote 0
Code:
Sub LastModifiedFile()
Dim dirName As String, fName As String, fileTime As Date, FileName As String, latestFile As String
dirName = "P:\New Issues\"
fName = Dir(dirName & "*.*")
latestFile = fName
fileTime = FileDateTime(dirName & fName)
While fName <> ""
    If FileDateTime(dirName & fName) > fileTime Then
        latestFile = fName
    End If
    fName = Dir()
Wend
If latestFile = "" Then
    MsgBox "There are no files in the directory"
Else
    Workbooks.Open "P:\New Issues\" & latestFile
End If
End Sub

heres what I've got so far

Upvote 0
OK, try this:
Code:
Sub LastModifiedFile()

Dim dirName As String
    Dim fName As String
    Dim fileTime As Date
    Dim FileName As String
    Dim latestFile As String
    Dim wbSource As Workbook
    Dim wbFile As Workbook
    Dim mySum As Double

'   Capture current macro workbook object reference
    Set wbSource = ActiveWorkbook

dirName = "P:\New Issues\"
    fName = Dir(dirName & "*.*")

While fName <> ""
        If FileDateTime(dirName & fName) > fileTime Then
            latestFile = fName
        End If
        fName = Dir()
    Wend

If latestFile = "" Then
        MsgBox "There are no files in the directory"
    Else