VBA help: need to transfer 130 cells to memory and back

waeltken

Hello,

I am very new to VBA and am trying to write a simple procedure which will "record" the formulas from 130 adjacent (dimensions: 1 row, 130 columns) to memory.

Then I want to multiply all the formulas by a factor, record the change in an output variable and finally replace the altered 130 cells with the original formulas.

I have figured out how to perform the multiplication, and get the readout values, but how do I assign 130 cells to a variable? Or do I need to use an array for this? Also, what is the syntax to assign and then retrieve the contents of these cells to "memory" (variable or array).

Please help!

-waeltken

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
Welcome to the Board!

It may not be quite clear what you are after.
Can you provide a working example, what a cell formula starts out as, what you multiply by, what happens with the result, and what you want the end result to be?

Also, have you thought about using Excel cells as "temporary" cells for your 130 calculations, instead of trying to store them to memory?
Just another option...

Upvote 0
Hey,

so if I simply it this way, maybe it helps. Lets say I've got cells A3 through DX3. Each of them contains the relative formula SUM(A1:A2), SUM(B1:B2), SUM(C1:C2) etc.

the outcome of these formulas affect a single output cell further below in a discounted cash flow calculation.