VBA Help! - Really new to vba

leeact

Hi there!

I am currently working on a project where I would like a macro to go through a "trial and error" process to find a best fit solution with a few constraints. I am new to vba and would love some help, even if it's just where to start.

The project I am working on has 4 unknowns counts (#A, #B, #C, #D), and I am given 4 prices for those items, the sum of (#A + #B + #C + #D = 4) and the total cost should be would be (#A*PriceA+#B*PriceB+#C*PriceC+#D*PriceD = 214.83). Column I ("Actual cost") is using columns A - D to calculate the total cost. I would like to have a macro go through all possible combinations of #A #B #C #D to get to the desired cost of 214.83 in this case, with the constraints that (#A + #B + #C + #D = 4) and that #A, #B, #C, #D are all whole numbers. (The answer is #A = 1, #B = 1, #C = 1, #D = 1).

Col A | Col B | Col C | Col D | Col E |Col F | Col G | Col H | Col I | Col J | Col K |
#A |#B | #C | #D | PriceA | PriceB | PriceC | PriceD |Actual Cost| Desired Cost | Needed Total of A B C D|
3 |1 | 0 | 0 | 24.57 |46.21 |55.04 | 89.01 | 119.2 | 214.83 | 4 |

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thank You!

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
Welcome to the Forum!

If you're happy with a brute force approach testing every possibility (which should work fine here given the very small number of possibilities) then you'll need to test quantities of 0, 1, .... 4 for #A, and then for each of these, quantities of 0, 1 .. 4 for #B ..., and for each of these ...... etc.

So you'll need 4 nested loops.

But in practice you'll only to test 0-3 for #C (because INT(214.83/55.04) is 3) and 0-2 (i.e. INT(214.83/89.01) for D.

Do you know how to write loops using the Next ... For Statement?

Upvote 0
Thanks for the input!