VBA help - sum variable column

phamt137

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
VBA beginner here, attempting to sum variable number of columns down each row.
I want to sum from column G to the next blank column (number of columns vary), with the sum of each row in column F (number of rows also varies)

This is as close as I've gotten:

VBA Code:
Sub addcolumns()

Dim i As Long
    LastColumn = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("sheet1").Cells(2, Columns.Count).End(xlToRight)

For i = 2 To Cells(Rows.Count, "G").End(xlDown).Row
    Range("F" & i) = WorksheetFunction.Sum(Range("G" & i & ":" LastColumn & i))

Next i
End Sub

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.
Hi & welcome to MrExcel.
You need to use xlToLeft, not xlToRight
and xlUp rather than xlDown

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!

A few issues. One is that LastColumn returns a column number, not letter.
And you use the wrong wrong on your "xl" statements.

Try this:
VBA Code:
Sub addcolumns()

Dim i As Long
    Dim LastColumn As Long
    Dim rng As Range

LastColumn = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("Sheet1").Cells(2, Columns.Count).End(xlToLeft).Column

For i = 2 To Cells(Rows.Count, "G").End(xlUp).Row
        Set rng = Range(Cells(i, "G"), Cells(i, LastColumn))
        Range("F" & i) = WorksheetFunction.Sum(rng)
     Next i

End Sub

Edit: Didn't see Fluff's comments before I posted my response, so sorry for echoing those statements.

Upvote 0
Thank you both for the input!

xlToLeft for LastColumn only returns column G, but I'd like to sum cells from column G to L. I tried changing to xlToRight, which sums the correct cells from G to L, but also sums all values to the end of the row.
Is there a way to sum only to the next blank column?

VBA Code:
Sub addcolumns()

Dim i As Long
    Dim LastColumn As Long
    Dim rng As Range