VBA IE Automation: Previously functioning "Click" now redirects to error page

Benzoli7

Board Regular
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to creating any type of IE automation and I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction to solve this.

I built a tool to automate repetitive filling of a few webforms that I have to do frequently. Everything about the tool worked until last week.

Now, when the tool executes the line below, the site redirects to a page to page that tells me the link no longer works/the page no longer exists. If I manually click the button that this line clicks, I get the desired result. I suspect the page detects that a human is not clicking the button, and then redirects to the "error" page.

Assuming my suspicion is correct, does anyone know how to solve this or know of any helpful resources? I know that I barely know anything about this and I'm completely open to feedback saying my assumption is wrong (insert "assumption" joke haha).

I've searched a bunch for solutions, but haven't found anything. Not sure if I'm even asking the right question.

Quick note: I'm hesitant to share many more code snippets or details about about the site. I'm hoping that knowing that everything used to work and everything but this line still works provides enough detail to point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide!

VBA Code:
doc.getElementsByName("save")(0).Click

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.
i would expect that the html has been changed at the other end, so the save button is no longer call 'save' in the source html

Upvote 0
i would expect that the html has been changed at the other end, so the save button is no longer call 'save' in the source html
Thanks Diddi!