VBA If Match Then

hcparsons12

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hey everyone,

Keep in mind that I am very new to VBA, but not Excel. I've been attempting to learn VBA and apply it to my projects only over the past week or so. Currently, I am trying to write a code that searches across the table headers in a "Per Game" Sheet for a match to a changing reference in the "Player Search" Sheet. I have gotten the loops to work in that the macro runs through the correct rows or columns in each Sheet until it finds a match, but I cannot figure out how to tell the macro what to do when it finds said match. When it finds the match in the "Per Game" Sheet, I need it to take the average of the 540 rows beneath it. Then, reset and move on to the next match and do the same until reaching the bottom of "J5:J24" range, where the value of the averages go, in the "Player Search" Sheet. I'll attach a picture of my code. When I run it, I usually get a "424" error for object required.

Attachments

• Code.PNG
    Code.PNG
    17.6 KB · Views: 27

Excel Facts

Whats the difference between CONCAT and CONCATENATE?
The newer CONCAT function can reference a range of cells. =CONCATENATE(A1,A2,A3,A4,A5) becomes =CONCAT(A1:A5)
Since you are just starting to learn vba, let's fix your Dim statements.

There are a few lines that are not doing what I think you think they are doing. You are allowed to have more than one on each line but you have to declare each one of them you can't just declare the last one on the line and expect all the previous ones on the line to be declared the same.

For example: You have:

VBA Code:
Dim rge, avg, sol, cell As Range

rge, avg, and sol are, by default, variants until you specifically declare them otherwise.

Same with:

VBA Code:
Dim ws1, ws2 As Worksheet

ws1 is still a variant

If you want to properly combine those statements:

VBA Code:
Dim ws1 As Worksheet, ws2 As Worksheet

Upvote 0