VBA is executing across 2 files

cforrester1981

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
I am at wits end. I have no idea what is going on here.

I have posted previously that I am a VBA noob and using macros to learn VBA but the bit of programming experience that I have clearly isn't helping me find the problem with my code.

Some context: My client uses our software to pull a variety of different reports. However, the limitation of the software means that the one piece of data they require is tied up in a text string within a cell. I want to create a macro-enabled Excel file with different buttons that will extract the data from each of the different report formats. I have managed (with the help of this forum) to work out how extract my data. However, before I extract the data, I need to create a column to put the data in.

Below is my code. The problem I am having is that after the unmerging of the cells (the report is generated with merged cells), I need to copy the contents of cell A1 in the target file to the cell B1 in the target file. The code is correctly selecting and copying cell A1. However, when it has to select cell B2, it somehow switches back to the macro file and then the paste instruction pastes the contents to that file instead. I've marked where the problem lies. I've also included some screenshots so that you can see the outcome

VBA Code:
Sub OpenFile()
    Dim StrFile As String
    Dim wb As Workbook

StrFile = Application.GetOpenFilename(fileFilter:="Excel files (*.xls*), *.xls*", Title:="Choose an Excel file to open")
    Set wb = Workbooks.Open(StrFile)
        DoWork wb
        wb.Close SaveChanges:=True
End Sub
Sub DoWork(wb As Workbook)

With wb
'   Unmerge all cells
    Cells.Select
    Selection.UnMerge
'   Copy Referring Doctor label to B1
    Range("A1").Select
    Selection.Copy
    Range("B1").Select '<-- PROBLEM LIES HERE!!!!
    ActiveSheet.Paste ' <-- AND HERE!!!!
'   Delete column A
    Columns("A:A").Select