VBA Macro Column Hiding

MikeRob

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Need help if anyone can provide it. I'm trying to write a Macro where i can hide columns based on a cell value. The issue I'm having is trying to figure out how to construct it in a manner where I can have the macro work based on multiple cell values as well as work throughout the entire workbook that's has over 400 tabs. what I have only works with one cell value and only on the current worksheet.

here is the VBA code I have:

VBA Code:
Sub HideCols()
Dim cell As Range
For Each cell In ActiveWorkbook.ActiveSheet.Rows("8").Cells
If cell.Value = "X" Then
cell.EntireColumn.Hidden = True
End If
Next cell
End Sub

I'm fairly new to Macros so id like to know what I'm doing wrong, how to correct it to achieve hiding columns based on multiple cell values and work for the entire workbook, and an explanation of how you got it to work if possible. Your time and help is greatly appreciated

Last edited by a moderator:
Just want to make sure to thank you for your help. I did some tinkering with it and found something that worked. It was close to what you described the first time. This is what I used:

Sub loopSheets()
For Each ws In ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets
For Each cell In ws.Rows("3").Cells
If cell.Value = "Registered Voters" Or cell.Value = "IVO" Or cell.Value = "Emergency" Or cell.Value = "Absentee" Or cell.Value = "Provisional" Or cell.Value = "Military" Then
cell.EntireColumn.Hidden = True
End If
Next cell
Next ws
End Sub

so you were on point with the 1st code shared with me, but the small difference that made this work was instead of (For Each cell In ActiveWorkbook.ActiveSheet.Rows("3").Cells) I used (For Each cell In ws.Rows("3").Cells).

but just still wanted to thank you for you're time and effort with this, definitley appreciated
Use Select Case like Fluff showed is more shorter and more tidy if you have IF OR condition.

Upvote 0

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?