VBA macro to Collapse/Expand all grouped rows/columns

imaguy77

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2008
Messages
21
Hi all,

I'd like to be able to run a macro which would collapse or expand all grouped rows and columns for all selected worksheets. When I say collapse or expand, i don't need any selection dialog box or anything...just the code which would accomplish it. Thanks!!
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.

Jerry Sullivan

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
8,787
The Outline.ShowLevels method allows you to show a specified number of
RowLevels and Column Levels.

To Collapse all Rows and Columns...
Code:
Sub Collapse_All()
    ActiveSheet.Outline.ShowLevels RowLevels:=1, ColumnLevels:=1
End Sub
To Expand all Rows and Columns...
Code:
Sub Expand_All()
    ActiveSheet.Outline.ShowLevels RowLevels:=8, ColumnLevels:=8
End Sub
And anything in between....
Code:
Sub Collapse_Rows_to_Level2_Expand_All_Columns()
    ActiveSheet.Outline.ShowLevels RowLevels:=2, ColumnLevels:=8
End Sub
 

Jerry Sullivan

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
8,787
I just noticed you want to apply this to all on selected worksheets.

I'd like to be able to run a macro which would collapse or expand all grouped rows and columns for all selected worksheets.
You can merge the code I posted with the method of iterating through
selected worksheets that Domenic provided you in your recent post.

The result for Expand_All would look like this.

Code:
Sub Expand_All()
    Dim sh As Object
    For Each sh In ActiveWindow.SelectedSheets
        If TypeName(sh) = "Worksheet" Then
            sh.Outline.ShowLevels RowLevels:=8, ColumnLevels:=8
        End If
    Next sh
    Set sh = Nothing
End Sub
You can adapt the other variations the same way.
 

jbaccash

New Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
3
This works great for expanding all rows/columns. I'm having some trouble searching online to find code to expand only one group of columns. I'm running Excel 2010. Googling around, I'm finding code such as:

Range("B:C").Columns.ShowDetail = True

Range("B:C").Columns.ShowLevels ColumnLevels:=2

I'm also guessing with code such as:

Range("B:C").Outline.ShowLevels ColumnLevels:=2

Columns("B:C").Columns.ShowLevels ColumnLevels:=2

I keep getting a "Runtime error 438: Object doesn't support this property or method".

Forgive me but I'm almost a total novice when it comes to writing code in VBA. My experience to date is recording clunky macros and then messing with the resulting code. Clicking on a particular "+" for a group doesn't generate any code when recording.

Any help is appreciated.
 

jbaccash

New Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
3
I also find it strange that

Rows(9).ShowDetail = True

works to expand a particular group of rows but

Columns(C).ShowDetail = True

does not work for columns.
 

Jerry Sullivan

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
8,787
Hi and Welcome to the Board,

You could use either of these...

Code:
Columns("C").ShowDetail = True

Columns(3).ShowDetail = True
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,089,378
Messages
5,407,910
Members
403,171
Latest member
mayesmail12

This Week's Hot Topics

  • help please
    SORRY NOT ANY GOOD AT EXCEL SO HELP WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED this formula is in a sheet called ignore...
  • two formulas needed
    Hello, I'll try my best to explain this: First formula needed in Sheet1 cell A2: If Sheet1 cell B2 = Sheet2 cell B2 then return a 1. If not then...
  • Dynamic Counts
    Good afternoon, we are tidying up some data & the data seems to be growing quicker than we are tidying it up! What we confirm (by reviewing it...
  • Help Excel formula eliminate duplicate values and keep only 2 identical rows.
    as picture below column A has a duplicate value. but the values are not the same as the rule. sometimes 4 rows, sometimes 10 rows or 7 or 9...
  • Macro Compile Error Sub or Function not defined
    Hello, I am trying to run macros from a validation list, all macros have been created and run perfectly on there own but I'm getting a compile...
  • Last row combined with Current Region VBA
    I'm generally happy finding the last row of data through something like Lastrow = Cells(Rows.Count, "D").End(xlUp) but I don't always receive data...
Top