VBA Macro to copy and concatenate some columns from some rows of one worksheet to a different workbook

scotchy

Hello experts :cool: ... I'm a developer but have no experience with macros in excel and hoping someone here can save me some time.

I need to create a button on one worksheet that will :

- create a new workbook ... call it 'c:\sheets\Newbook.xls' ... (or open an existing one and empty it out)
- search through all rows of the current worksheet and select those that have some data in column A
- note that some rows may be completely blank
- copy some of the data from these rows ... columns A & B concatenated and capitalised, col D and col F
- paste the three resulting pieces of data into sheet 1 of 'Newbook' in columns A,B and C
- have no empty rows in Newbook

I know how to create the button to execute the Macro etc. but the syntax and methods of macros are a complete mystery to me.

Thankful for any and all help.

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
Code:
Sub newFile()
Dim wb As Workbook, sh1 As Worksheet, sh2 As Worksheet, c As Range
Set sh1 = ActiveSheet
Set wb = Workbooks.Add
Set sh2 = wb.Sheets(1)
    For Each c In sh1.Range("A2", sh1.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp))
        If c <> "" Then
            sh2.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp)(2) = UCase(c.Value) & UCase(c.Offset(, 1).Value)
            sh2.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Offset(, 1) = c.Offset(, 3).Value
            sh2.Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Offset(, 2) = c.Offset(, 5).Value
        End If
    Next
End Sub
Copy to standard code module 1.

Upvote 0