VBA Newbie Problem

steviejy2k

I am a complete newbie to VBA and am trying to make a simple (supposed to be) spreadsheet for people to file expenses with.

I have managed to formulate the spreadsheet so that it looks up £ to € exchange rates for particular days automatically, but I am now trying to make a macro which allows users to insert a new expense into the form.

I require the macro to move a selection labelled TOTALS down a row, and then copy the formulae from other rows down to the new row below. That's not particularly well explained.

Basically i have one row which is formatted correctly with formulae etc, and i want when the user clicks the macro button for the totals (which are two lines beneath) to be moved down a row, and the formatted row with formulae to be copied to the next row below. The important formulae in cells have labels attached so if i can use these it may be easier?? I'm guessing here.

Sorry for the poor explanation.

(P.S. I haven't written any code yet to give you a start as i didn't know where to start.)

Thanks for any help.

Excel Facts

VLOOKUP to Left?
Use =VLOOKUP(A2,CHOOSE({1,2},$Z$1:$Z$99,$Y$1:$Y$99),2,False) to lookup Y values to left of Z values.
Hello,

why not try using the macro recorder, then posting any problems you may have. You may be surprised how quick you pick up VBA.

Upvote 0
I have tried using the macro recorder but the problem is when i select the cells containing the formulae to be copied, the code references these cell addresses. Therefore when i try to repeat the process for the second time (i.e. a second expense input) noting happens as it overwrites into those cell location again.

When i try with the recorder this is what I get:

Sub Test()
'
' Test Macro
'

'
Application.Goto Reference:="TOTALS"
Selection.Insert Shift:=xlDown, CopyOrigin:=xlFormatFromLeftOrAbove
Application.Goto Reference:="INTEREST"
Selection.AutoFill Destination:=Range("I7:I8"), Type:=xlFillDefault
Range("I7:I8").Select