VBA Random

peteypie76

Hi,

Thanks in advance for looking to help me.

I have 5 lists: Animals, Food, Places, Names and Drinks there are 20 things in each list.

I need to populate a 5 x 5 grid with random selections from these lists - but there can be no duplicates. Column 1 on the 5x5 grid needs to pick from the animals list, column 2 from the 5x5 grid from the foods list etc.

I need to repeat this process many times for more 5x5 grids starting afresh for each grid.

Is anyone able to help? I am not very good at VBA/VBScript

Thanks
Petey
capture.png

The image is a mock up the 5x5 grids are on the left the lists to choose from is on the right. For example B10 needs to be randomly chosen from H6:H14. B11 needs to randomly choose a name from H6:H14 but ensure that the name in B10 is not chose as it would be a duplicate. Hope this makes sense.

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

Can you sort left to right?
To sort left-to-right, use the Sort dialog box. Click Options. Choose "Sort left to right"
Hi,

Thanks in advance for looking to help me.

I have 5 lists: Animals, Food, Places, Names and Drinks there are 20 things in each list.

I need to populate a 5 x 5 grid with random selections from these lists - but there can be no duplicates. Column 1 on the 5x5 grid needs to pick from the animals list, column 2 from the 5x5 grid from the foods list etc.

I need to repeat this process many times for more 5x5 grids starting afresh for each grid.

Is anyone able to help? I am not very good at VBA/VBScript

Thanks

1. Can you post the data sample as a table not just animage?
2. The layout of your real data, is it the same as your example above, so the 5 lists 'Animals, Food, Places, Names and Drinks' is in col H:L with header at row 5?

Upvote 0