VBA - removing rows/data older than x days/weeks

JBM91

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi experts,

You've been very helpful in the past, so I figured I'd ask you for help again!

I have a database with columns split into days and weeks for the year, and rows representing jobs / orders.
Cells will then be populated with relevant data for the various jobs / orders in a given day.

The problem is that 5-6 months into the year, the file starts to get very large - and as such, slow to work with.

I was therefore hoping to make a macro where the user can remove/allocate "old" data - i.e. data that is older than, say, two weeks from today - to a separate file, where it can be archived. (That way the user can always jump into the archive-file, should they feel the need to backtrack something).

.. here's the trick though! It needs to only remove rows when a cell meets a specific criteria that indicates that the job/order is no longer "alive".

I have very little experience with VBA, and any suggestions and help you may be able to provide will be much appreciated!

//Jbm

Excel Facts

Difference between two dates
Secret function! Use =DATEDIF(A2,B2,"Y")&" years"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"YM")&" months"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"MD")&" days"
You mention "database". This would be very easy with an actual database program like Microsoft Access (though many people use Excel as a database, it really isn't a database program, so it doesn't handle these things as easily as Access does.

If that is not an option for you, and you have to do it in Excel, I think it would be helpful if you could past some sample of what your data looks like. You can do that with the tools mentioned here: XL2BB - Excel Range to BBCode

We would really need to know:
- What your exact criteria is?
- What columns hold the data that we will be running this criteria against?
- Are the columns holding the dates formatted as "Date", "Number", or "Text"?

Upvote 0