VBA to Rename Worksheets Based on Contents in Sheet 1

rcschmidt88

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on here, and I'm very new to Excel VBA code, so I would appreciate some help. I have an Excel workbook with 7 sheets. The 1st one is a reference sheet titled Allocation, where I type in names of accounts into cells A3:A5. For the purpose of this question, lets say A3 is Red Account, A4 is Blue Account, and A5 is Yellow Account.

Here are the names I would like for the sheets:
Sheet 2: Red Account Sell Proposal
Sheet 3: Red Account Cost Basis
Sheet 4: Blue Account Sell Proposal
Sheet 5: Blue Account Cost Basis
Sheet 6: Yellow Account Sell Proposal
Sheet 7: Yellow Account Cost Basis

So basically for each account named in A3:A5, I would like 2 sheets, one for sell proposal and one for cost basis. I would like these name changes to be based on changing the text in cells A3:A5 of sheet one. So if I changed "Red Account" in cell A3 to "IRA", then I would want to change sheet 2 to "IRA Sell Proposal" and sheet 3 to "IRA Cost Basis". If you could please be specific about where to paste the VBA code as well, that would be great.

Thanks a ton!

Excel Facts

Excel Wisdom
Using a mouse in Excel is the work equivalent of wearing a lanyard when you first get to college
Copy and paste this macro into the worksheet code module. Do the following: right click the tab name for your "Allocation" sheet and click 'View Code'. Paste the macro into the empty code window that opens up. Make sure that the "Dim" line of code remains at the very top. Close the code window to return to your sheet. Enter a value in A3:A5 and press the RETURN key.

Code:
Dim oldName As String
Private Sub Worksheet_SelectionChange(ByVal Target As Range)
    If Intersect(Target, Range("A:A")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
    If Target <> "" Then
        oldName = Target.Value
    End If
End Sub
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
    Application.ScreenUpdating = False