VBA - Workbook_SheetChange

Janko32

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello,

I am very new to VBA so this might be a dumb question.

For our company, we have an Excel workbook that has multiple sheets.

We have a Master sheet that all the changes will be made to.

The other sheets are Branches of the master that have linked cells to the master.

I know that there is a way to implement a worksheet_change in order to change the interior color of a cell when it is MANUALLY changed and I know how to implement that.

However, is there a way to implement that same color change across all NON-MANUALLY changed cells within the workbook?

Excel Facts

Will the fill handle fill 1, 2, 3?
Yes! Type 1 in a cell. Hold down Ctrl while you drag the fill handle.
What do you mean by "NON-MANUALLY changed cells"?

There is no event that will tell you if the result of a formula changed, if that's what you are getting at. You can tell when a recalculation occurs, but there is no easy way to find out if a cell with a formula changed its result.

There might be some way of doing this but it would be a bit involved, like tracing every changed value through the formulas it affects.

Upvote 0
There are no formulas. Let me try to give you an example so you can better understand what I'm trying to do.

Lets say cell A1 in sheet 1 has the word 'Hello'.

I want cell B2 in sheet 2 to have whatever cell A1 in sheet 1 has... therefore cell B1 in sheet 2 would also have the word 'Hello'.

Now, lets say I want to change cell A1 in sheet 1 to 'Goodbye', I would want cell A1 in sheet 1 to highlight in a light green color. I would then want cell B2 in sheet 2 to say 'Goodbye' (Which it will already do since it is linked to cell A1 in sheet 1) but more importantly, highlight cell b1 in that same light green color.

Does this make more sense?

Sorry to be confusing.

Upvote 0
VBA Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
Target.Interior.Color = RGB(216, 228, 188)
End Sub