VLOOKUP issue

rck

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2011
Messages
30
Excel 2000
ABCDEF
1RD_NOOLD_DISTRICTNEW_DISTRICT
2LVA3006=VLOOKUP(A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE)=B2LVB1004
3LVA3016=VLOOKUP(A3,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE)LVB1014
4LVB1005=VLOOKUP(A4,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE)LVB2024
5LVB1015=VLOOKUP(A5,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE)LVB2034
6LVB2006=VLOOKUP(A6,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE)LVB2044
7LVB2016=VLOOKUP(A7,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE)LVB2054

<colgroup><col style="width: 25pxpx"><col><col><col><col><col><col></colgroup><thead>
</thead><tbody>
</tbody>
All RDs
<b>Excel 2000</b><table cellpadding="2.5px" rules="all" style=";background-color: #FFFFFF;border: 1px solid;border-collapse: collapse; border-color: #A6AAB6"><colgroup><col width="25px" style="background-color: #E0E0F0" /><col /><col /><col /><col /><col /><col /></colgroup><thead><tr style=" background-color: #E0E0F0;text-align: center;color: #161120"><th></th><th>A</th><th>B</th><th>C</th><th>D</th><th>E</th><th>F</th></tr></thead><tbody><tr ><td style="color: #161120;text-align: center;">1</td><td style=";">RD_NO</td><td style="text-align: center;;">OLD_DISTRICT</td><td style="text-align: center;;">NEW_DISTRICT</td><td style="text-align: right;;"></td><td style=";"></td><td style=";"></td></tr><tr ><td style="color: #161120;text-align: center;">2</td><td style=";">LVA300</td><td style="text-align: center;;">6</td><td style="text-align: center;;">#N/A</td><td style="text-align: right;;"></td><td style=";">LVB100</td><td style=";">4</td></tr><tr ><td style="color: #161120;text-align: center;">3</td><td style=";">LVA301</td><td style="text-align: center;;">6</td><td style="text-align: center;;">#N/A</td><td style="text-align: right;;"></td><td style=";">LVB101</td><td style=";">4</td></tr><tr ><td style="color: #161120;text-align: center;">4</td><td style=";">LVB100</td><td style="text-align: center;;">5</td><td style="text-align: center;;">4</td><td style="text-align: right;;"></td><td style=";">LVB202</td><td style=";">4</td></tr><tr ><td style="color: #161120;text-align: center;">5</td><td style=";">LVB101</td><td style="text-align: center;;">5</td><td style="text-align: center;;">4</td><td style="text-align: right;;"></td><td style=";">LVB203</td><td style=";">4</td></tr><tr ><td style="color: #161120;text-align: center;">6</td><td style=";">LVB200</td><td style="text-align: center;;">6</td><td style="text-align: center;;">#N/A</td><td style="text-align: right;;"></td><td style=";">LVB204</td><td style=";">4</td></tr><tr ><td style="color: #161120;text-align: center;">7</td><td style=";">LVB201</td><td style="text-align: center;;">6</td><td style="text-align: center;;">#N/A</td><td style="text-align: right;;"></td><td style=";">LVB205</td><td style=";">4</td></tr></tbody></table><p style="width:4.2em;font-weight:bold;margin:0;padding:0.2em 0.6em 0.2em 0.5em;border: 1px solid #A6AAB6;border-top:none;text-align: center;background-color: #E0E0F0;color: #161120">All RDs</p><br /><br />



I would like to keep the value in B2 if it does not change based of the VLOOKUP formula. IF A2 does not match E2, then keep the existing value in B2. If it does match, then change the value in B2 to the value in F2.

The VLOOKUP formula in C3 works for changing the value, but inserts #N/A if it doesn't find a match.

Thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:

jamtay317

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
768
Code:
=<code>if(isna(vlookup(</code>[COLOR=#333333][FONT=Verdana][/FONT][/COLOR][CENTER][COLOR=#333333][FONT=Verdana]A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE)),b2,[/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=#333333][FONT=Verdana]A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE))[/FONT][/COLOR][/CENTER]
try this <code>

</code>
 

Andrew Poulsom

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
73,092
Maybe try:

=IF(COUNTIF($E$2:$E$129,A2),IF(VLOOKUP(A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE)=B2,B2,VLOOKUP(A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE)),B2)
 
  • Like
Reactions: rck

jamtay317

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
768
=<code>if(isna(</code>VLOOKUP(A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE)),b2,VLOOKUP(A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,FALSE))
 

Rick Rothstein

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
35,498
Office Version
2010
Platform
Windows
Does this formula do what you want?

=IFERROR(INDEX(F$2:F$129,MATCH(A2,E$2:E$129,0)),B2)
 

markmzz

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
3,699
Maybe this:

Code:
=IF(ISERROR(1/(VLOOKUP(A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,0)<>B2)),B2,VLOOKUP(A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,0))
Markmzz
 

Rick Rothstein

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
35,498
Office Version
2010
Platform
Windows
Does this formula do what you want?

=IFERROR(INDEX(F$2:F$129,MATCH(A2,E$2:E$129,0)),B2)
I just realized your are using XL2000. I do not have that version available, so I cannot test these, but I think one of these should should work for you. Try this one first...

=IF(COUNTIF(E$2:E$129,A2),INDEX(F$2:F$129,MATCH(A2,E$2:E$129,0)),B2)

and if it doesn't work, then try this one...

=IF(ISERROR(MATCH(A2,E$2:E$129,0)),B2,INDEX(F$2:F$129,MATCH(A2,E$2:E$129,0)))
 

markmzz

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
3,699
A small modification in the formula:

Code:
=IF(ISERROR(VLOOKUP(A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,0)),B2,VLOOKUP(A2,$E$2:$F$129,2,0))
Markmzz
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,081,546
Messages
5,359,455
Members
400,529
Latest member
Ratish52

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • VBA (Userform)
    Hi All, I just would like to know why my code isn't working. Here is my VBA code: [CODE=vba]Private Sub OKButton_Click() Dim i As Integer...
  • List box that changes fill color
    Hello, I have gone through so many pages trying to figure this out. I have a 2020 calendar that depending on the day needs to have a certain...
  • Remove duplicates and retain one. Cross-linked cases
    Hi all I ran out of google keywords to use and still couldn't find a reference how to achieve the results of a single count. It would be great if...
  • VBA Copy and Paste With Duplicates
    Hello All, I'm in need of some input. My VBA skills are sub-par at best. I've assembled this code from basic research and it works but is...
  • Macro
    is it possible for a macro to run if the active cell value is different to the value above it
  • IF DATE and TIME
    I currently use this to check if date has passed but i also need to set a time on it too. Is it possible? [CODE=vba]=IF(B:B>TODAY(),"Not...
Top