Vlookup to different workbook in Excel 2007

cdickinson

New Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
11
I just made the switch to 2007. How come when I try to do a vlookup to a different workbook in the function wizard, it won't let me chooose the other workbooks I have open?? It will only let me do lookups to tabs within the current workbook.
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.

Andrew Poulsom

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
73,092
Can't you choose View|Window|Switch Windows while in Edit mode? Or point at the external workbook in the Taskbar?
 

Andrew Poulsom

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
73,092
I can't check because I don't have access to Excel 2007 at the moment. Maybe someone else can show you how.
 

mgator

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2008
Messages
3

ADVERTISEMENT

I have the same issue, specifically when I'm trying to look up between 2 macro-enabled files. It's like Excel thinks the other file is in a different application completely and will not let me toggle between the 2. This issue is slowing me down SOOOOO much at work, because I use vlookups constantly and most of my files have frequently used macros.
 

LNASH2

New Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2012
Messages
42
Try using the vlookup function without using the wizzard and you shouldnt have any issues.

And also make sure you are in the same session of Excel and not in fact a completly new session I.E havent clicked start>Excel to get your second book open.

Thanks,
Lewis
 

Andrew Poulsom

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Jul 21, 2002
Messages
73,092
I have the same issue, specifically when I'm trying to look up between 2 macro-enabled files. It's like Excel thinks the other file is in a different application completely and will not let me toggle between the 2. This issue is slowing me down SOOOOO much at work, because I use vlookups constantly and most of my files have frequently used macros.

Are you sure that both workbooks are open in the same instance of Excel?
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,122,216
Messages
5,594,885
Members
413,947
Latest member
gizmolucy

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top