Wait Until new shape selected

Scrapyard

Good Evening,

I'm a novice at best. I'm looking for a faster way to name shapes that make up a large map using a given array.

Given:
- An array "Districts," which has more than 300 text strings (district names) stored in it
-- The district array has no spaces or special characters in it
- A map of more than 300 freeform shapes

Desired Effect:
- A macro that:
-- Uses for/next (or other method) to incrementally increase "n" to ubound(Districts)
-- cell(1, 1).value = Districts( n )
-- waits until I select a freeform shape (This is the part I don't have the first clue on how to execute)
-- names that shape I select the same as the district name
-- next n (or other method)

I appreciate any assistance you could provide!

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
See if this code works for you. It uses a timer (Application.OnTime) to call a procedure (Rename_Selected_Shape) every second to monitor the active sheet and determine if a freeform shape has been selected by the user. If so, it renames that shape to the value of cell A1 (the current value of the Districts array) and changes A1 to the next District. The timer is restarted until the end of the Districts array has been reached.

Note that the code first renames all the freeform shapes by adding a number suffix to the existing shape name - the reason for this is explained in the code.

To use the code, just put the district names in the Districts array and run the Initialise procedure.

VBA Code:
Option Explicit

Public Const OnTimeInterval As String = "00:00:01"
Public Const OnTimeProcedureName As String = "Rename_Selected_Shape"

Dim NextCheckTime As Date
Dim Districts As Variant
Dim DistrictIndex As Long

Public Sub Initialise()

Districts = Array("Dist1", "Dist2", "Dist3", "Dist4", "Dist5", "Dist6", "Dist7", "Dist8", "Dist9")
    DistrictIndex = 0