What's the best approach here? (Data Acquisition)

mardipraxes

Hey, I'm a beginner at excel but I was tasked with refurbishing our budget template. It's a construction company and in the budget we describe what we're doing and what materials we use and price it by units, square meters etc..

The thing is we use a lot of materials, and looking them up by hand sometimes it's too much work, I've recently got a price table of most of our materials but I have no idea how I should approach this basically I'd like a function or something that would work like a search engine, for example I'd search for bricks and I could choose the type of brick I want and the return would be the price of it.

If you guys want more info or clarification on this I can give you, but the gist of it is, I wanna ease the find of materials price, so if you know a better way to work this out I'm all ears.

David

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
let say your price table is in Columns A & B, like this

Excel 2012
ABCDE
1materialspricematerialsprice
2M110M880
3M220
4M330
5M440
6M550
7M660
8M770
9M880
10M990
11M10100
Sheet3
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
E2=VLOOKUP(D2,A:B,2,0)

the vlookup() formula in cell E2 will look up the material in D2 (in this case M8) from the table A:B and report the price in Column B (as 2 in =VLOOKUP(D2,A:B,2,0)). the 0 at the end forced the function to find an exact match.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
let say your price table is in Columns A & B, like this

Excel 2012
ABCDE
1materialspricematerialsprice
2M110M880
3M220
4M330
5M440
6M550
7M660
8M770
9M880
10M990
11M10100

<colgroup><col style="width: 25pxpx"><col><col><col><col><col></colgroup><thead>
</thead><tbody>
</tbody>
Sheet3

Worksheet Formulas
CellFormula
E2=VLOOKUP(D2,A:B,2,0)

<thead>
</thead><tbody>
</tbody>

<tbody>
</tbody>