When I have a Tie and the same number is referenced is there a way to change the color to RED?

RudeBoy

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
364
When I have a Tie and the same number is referenced is there a way to change the color to RED?
See below an example we had a tie 2477 sometimes we have multiple ties so wanted to know if I have a tie how can I have the tie number be turned to RED.

Example so If I have three people tied at 2477 then I would want to turn those ties number 2477 turned to RED. Thanks for your help


TEAM EVENT20th PlaceTEAM EVENT20th Place
I GOT ONE
2477​
Ain't Got No Haters
2477​
 

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.

kweaver

Well-known Member
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,738
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
(1) please modify your profile to reflect what version of Excel you run and
(2) would you provide a variety of examples rather than just 1?
 

RudeBoy

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
364
(1) please modify your profile to reflect what version of Excel you run and
(2) would you provide a variety of examples rather than just 1?
2003 Excel

SportingNews.com Fantasy Source - NFL
TEAM EVENT32nd PlaceTEAM EVENT32nd Place
NO MAS PALITOS
2402​
Yo-Yo & The GUYS
2402​

These are bowling team names in this case we had a tie at 2402
 

kweaver

Well-known Member
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,738
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
So, the ties are only considered for columns B and E?
 

kweaver

Well-known Member
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,738
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010

ADVERTISEMENT

I selected B2:B21 and E2:E21, for example, then used this Conditional Formatting:

Code:
=COUNTIF($A2:$E2,$B2)>1

1619563138482.png
 
Last edited:

RudeBoy

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
364
I selected B2:B21 and E2:E21, for example, then used this Conditional Formatting:

Code:
=COUNTIF($A2:$E2,$B2)>1

Actually Columns C, G & K

So should I select those columns C-G-K & then hit Conditional Formatting and then I would select Use a Formula to determine which cell to format?

I would then enter in the Format values where this formula is true:

Let me know thanks for your help - Stay Safe
 

kweaver

Well-known Member
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,738
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010

ADVERTISEMENT

That's why I asked for more than 1 example. You haven't shown columns G nor K.
 

RudeBoy

Active Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2003
Messages
364
Here is a pic of em
 

Attachments

  • Pic 2 ties.JPG
    Pic 2 ties.JPG
    29.2 KB · Views: 2
  • Pic 1 ties.JPG
    Pic 1 ties.JPG
    27 KB · Views: 2

kweaver

Well-known Member
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,738
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
It seems like the cell references change every time you send a sample.

If you select the C column, the conditional format might look like this:

Code:
=COUNTIF($C2:$K2,$C2)>1

When you select the G column, change the formula above from the 2nd $C2 to $G2.
When you select the K column, change the formula above from the 2nd $C2 to $K2.

1619570043456.png


or

1619570090614.png
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,129,553
Messages
5,636,989
Members
416,953
Latest member
broexc

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top