Which occurs first: Code in Workbook_Open procedure, or an ODBC connection set to refresh on open?

M McAllister

(Using Windows 7, Excel 2010)
I have a workbook that has 6 ODBC connections to refresh data tables on open (Background Refresh). I also have code in a "Workbook_Open" procedure that I need to process AFTER the data tables refresh.

So here's the question(s):
Does the ODBC Refresh happen first? If so, then great, it's doing what I need it to do.

If the code runs first (or even concurrently), then how can I stop the code until the refresh takes place?

I'm very new at using code to manipulate a spreadsheet, so any reference material related to this would be appreciated.

Thanks,
MM

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
I believe open event fires 1st. The way to go about it is to use a class module to trap the query after_refresh event and plonk your code there. Use the open event to populate a collection to house a class instance for each query table...

What is your code doing?

Upvote 0
Jon,

Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately, I'm a noob with regards to VBA. How difficult is it to accomplish what you described?

Most of what I can accomplish is by recording a macro and working through it. Which I how I "wrote" the code. So far it just manipulates the data in the tables (filters/unfilters/copy and paste).

I was hoping to either pause the code for the refresh to execute or use VBA to execute the refresh in the Open Event. My last resort would be to put the code in a macro and run it manually with a button.

Thanks,
Mathew

Upvote 0
Hi Matt

You can use ActiveWorkbook.RefreshAll to refresh all query tables and pivot tables in the workbook, and plonk this in the open event before your other code runs.

Upvote 0
John,