Why No One Answers Your Question

Roderick_E

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
2,051
Have you ever posted here and no one answers your question? Well, people on MrExcel have been very helpful for the many years I've been on this site. So, just to help out, there are some typical issues that may cause people to pass over your question:

1. Question makes no sense or illogical. (ie "I want g1 to flip when g2 changes to g1")
2. Question is a project not a question. (ie "I need someone to develop 3 macros for me to do a bunch of stuff")
3. Question is jumbled because code wrapper wasn't used to show where code begins and question ends.
4. Question is missing too much information. (ie "Can I get a formula that changes color?" -- color of what? cell? text?)
I'm sure there are other reasons but these are the main reasons I pass over questions, besides not knowing the answer. I hope it helps.
 

Some videos you may like

Rick Rothstein

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 18, 2011
Messages
36,028
Office Version
2010
Platform
Windows
Have you ever posted here and no one answers your question? Well, people on MrExcel have been very helpful for the many years I've been on this site. So, just to help out, there are some typical issues that may cause people to pass over your question:
1. Question makes no sense or illogical. (ie "I want g1 to flip when g2 changes to g1")
2. Question is a project not a question. (ie "I need someone to develop 3 macros for me to do a bunch of stuff")
3. Question is jumbled because code wrapper wasn't used to show where code begins and question ends.
4. Question is missing too much information. (ie "Can I get a formula that changes color?" -- color of what? cell? text?)
I'm sure there are other reasons but these are the main reasons I pass over questions, besides not knowing the answer. I hope it helps.
To add to Roderick's comment above...

A Generalized "Please Note"
--------------------------------------
For future questions you may ask, please do not simplify your question for us... doing so will get you a great answer to a question you do not actually have and which you do not actually care about AND it will almost always lead to you coming back for help when the solution we give you for the simplified question cannot be applied to your actual data and its layout. One thing you must keep in mind when you ask a question in a forum... the people you are asking to help you know absolutely nothing about your data, absolutely nothing about how it is laid out in the workbook, absolutely nothing about what you want done with it and absolutely nothing about how whatever it is you want done is to be presented back to you as a result... you must be very specific about describing each of these areas, in detail, and you should not assume that we will be able to "figure it out" on our own. Remember, you are asking us for help... so help us to be able to help you by providing the information we need to do so, even if that information seems "obvious" to you (remember, it is only obvious to you because of your familiarity with your data, its layout and the overall objective for it).
 
Last edited:

wideboydixon

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
3,401
I try and avoid homework questions but they're not always obvious. I also stay away from users who forget that this forum is a free service and the people on here are doing them a favour from the goodness of their own heart; "I need this today" doesn't work for me.

WBD
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
53,631
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Sometimes people also post projects that they would like done for them (and don't really have any intention of doing/learning themselves).
That is not really what this Free Forum is intended for. That falls under Consulting work, and it isn't reasonable to expect people here to do those type of large projects for free.
 

Roderick_E

Well-known Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
2,051
I have moved this thread to the "About This Board" forum.

There are also some threads in the "Board Announcements" forum which give some good posting tips on how to ask good questions:
https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/board-announcements/127080-guidelines-forum-use.html
https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/board-announcements/685723-help-us-help-you.html
Thanks, it does probably fit better there. I put it in the questions section because many people never read "About" pages even though they should :)
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
53,631
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
I put it in the questions section because many people never read "About" pages even though they should
That forum moves so fast, most people would probably never see it, unless they were online for that particular hour (unless people kept responding to it, though your intended audience is usually more likely to post their questions than read existing ones).
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,101,911
Messages
5,483,680
Members
407,399
Latest member
Rakeforms

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop
    Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop I have tried this below code but i'm getting in Y column filled with W005. Colud you please...
  • MsgBox Error
    Hi Guys, I have the below error show up when i try and run my macro in File1 but works fine if i copy and paste the same code into file2. [ATTACH...
  • CELL FORMAT - IF CONDITION
    My Cell Format is [B]""0.00" Cr". [/B]But in the cell, it is showing 123.00 for editing. (123 is entry figure). (Data imported from other...
  • Show numbers nearly the same
    Is this possible. I have a number that can change very time eg 0.00001234 Then I have a lot of numbers 0.0000001, 0.0000002, 0.00000004...
  • Please i need your help to create formula
    I need a formula in cell B8 to do this >>if b1=1 then multiply ( cell b8) by 10% ,if b1=2 multiply by 20%,if=3 multiply by 30%. Thank you in...
  • Got error while adding column and filter
    Got error while adding column and filter In column Z has some like "Success" and "Error". I want to add column in AA if the Z cell value is...
Top