Word VBA - shortcut keys suddenly triggering a rogue dialogue box

DavidSCowan

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 7, 2009
Messages
78
I am reasonable familiar with VBA for Excel but new to Word VBA. I have cobbled together a couple of simple Word macros and assigned keyboard short cuts. These worked successfully for a while but suddenly for no reason I can discern the hot keys stopped triggering the macros and whenever the hot key combinations are activated I am taken to a dialog box "Get a Digital ID" and offered the option to buy a digital ID from a digital partner or create my own. I don't want to do either.

I have set the security setting to allow macros to run etc. but this makes no difference. I am working with Office 2007 and with Windows 7

Somehow the keyboard shortcuts have got entangled with some sort of Assign Digital Signature command. Could somebody please tell me what is going on and how I can get my shortcut keys back.

Thank you

David
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number

Trevor G

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
6,601
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows
Open word and then select the Quick Acces Toolbar then reset the keyboard commands to see if it removes the issue, then in the quick access tools select Keyboard shortcuts and then from the list select Macros then select your macro and assign the shortcut keys you want.
 

DavidSCowan

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 7, 2009
Messages
78
Thanks very much for your reply but I am afraid I still have the problem.

If I understood you correctly when, as suggested, I reset the keyboard commands then the shortcut keys don't do anything - so far so good.

But when I attempt to re-assign the short cut keys to the macro I create the problem all over again. I do the following:
- Start/Word Options/Customize/Macros
- Then click on the macro name
- And then Keyboard Shortcut Keys Customize

The Customize Keyboard dialogue box appears which has two columns. The first column is headed "Categories" and the default entry in the list is: "Office Menu". The second column is entitled "Command" and the default position is Add Digital Signature.

Further down in the dialogue box there is "Specify keyboard Sequence" So in the "Press New Shortcut Key" In this case I enter Ctrl Shift M.

Further down there is "Description" of what the new shortcut key will do and of course it says "Add a digital signature."

So it seems that despite earlier going down the macro route to assign a shortcut key to a macro I have assigned a shortcut key to a popular command!

Thanks again but do you have any ideas?

David
 

Trevor G

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
6,601
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows
Hi David,

I think you would need to assign another combination if the Digital Signature is the primary option. Normally the Ctrl + 6 to 9 is free or some of the Alt Key options

In earlier verisons you used to be able to over write the default.
 

DavidSCowan

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 7, 2009
Messages
78
Hi Trevor

Thanks for sticking with this. From what you have said I now see what I have done wrong. In the first column of the Customize Keyboard dialogue box if I scroll down Macros appears again as an option so that selecting that and then assigning a shortcut does the trick. I am certain I didn't do this when I first assigned the shortcut keys that later went wrong but of course now it all makes perfect sense.

The option of macros in an earlier dialogue box was confusing as it doesn't seem to serve any purpose when assigning shortcut keys to macros.

Thanks very much for your help it wouldn't have sorted out without it.

With kind regards

David
 

Trevor G

Well-known Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
6,601
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows
Pleased to read you have a solution David. ;)
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,101,847
Messages
5,483,279
Members
407,390
Latest member
jenniferjohns

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop
    Finding issue in If elseif else with For each Loop I have tried this below code but i'm getting in Y column filled with W005. Colud you please...
  • MsgBox Error
    Hi Guys, I have the below error show up when i try and run my macro in File1 but works fine if i copy and paste the same code into file2. [ATTACH...
  • CELL FORMAT - IF CONDITION
    My Cell Format is [B]""0.00" Cr". [/B]But in the cell, it is showing 123.00 for editing. (123 is entry figure). (Data imported from other...
  • Show numbers nearly the same
    Is this possible. I have a number that can change very time eg 0.00001234 Then I have a lot of numbers 0.0000001, 0.0000002, 0.00000004...
  • Please i need your help to create formula
    I need a formula in cell B8 to do this >>if b1=1 then multiply ( cell b8) by 10% ,if b1=2 multiply by 20%,if=3 multiply by 30%. Thank you in...
  • Got error while adding column and filter
    Got error while adding column and filter In column Z has some like "Success" and "Error". I want to add column in AA if the Z cell value is...
Top