Worksheet_Change Inquiry

delulytric

Hi, I'm a beginner in VBA and I'm not familiar with most of the code here. I read up on several threads about Worksheet_Change() and can't find something that suits to my need.

Currently, I'm doing a project and let's assume that I changed the price of fish from $2 to $4.

Sheet 1 (Original sheet)

ABC
1NamePriceQuantity
2Chicken$2.507
3Fish$4.003

<tbody>
</tbody>

I want it to transfer the entire row 3 Fish and store it into a historical data sheet for record keeping purpose. Bear in mind that for every change, it should automatically update itself through a new row! I would also want a date changed on column D so that it is understood when the last person did change the price or quantity of the row itself.

Sheet 2 (Historical data sheet)

ABCD
1NamePriceQuantityDate Changed
2Fish$4.00315 March 2019
3Fish$5.00316 March 2019

<tbody>
</tbody>

I've search through the forum and sad to say I'm not very capable in handling VBA as opposed to my other projectmates. I only understood the start command Private Sub Worksheet_Change(), the end command and if intersect(target, range) is Nothing exit sub.

Any help here would be greatly appreciated here!

Last edited by a moderator:

Excel Facts

Is there a shortcut key for strikethrough?
Ctrl+S is used for Save. Ctrl+5 is used for Strikethrough. Why Ctrl+5? When you use hashmarks to count |||| is 4, strike through to mean 5.
Welcome to the Board!

Try this:
Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

Dim rng As Range
    Dim cell As Range
    Dim r As Long
    Dim nr As Long

Application.ScreenUpdating = False

'   Set range to watch for changes (column B)
    Set rng = Intersect(Target, Range("B:B"))

'   Exit sub if change is not in column B
    If rng Is Nothing Then Exit Sub

'   Loop through changed cells in column B (usually 1)
    For Each cell In rng
'       Capture row number of change
        r = cell.Row
'       Find next available row on sheet 2