writing a loop to only read drop down cells in 2 columns

vze

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
First I am a novice to writing these macros in excel and hence I am struggling to fix a run time error that occurs.
My ask is as follows

I have worksheet with multiple columns - some are text cells and some are data drop down lists.
Two of the columns are dependent drop down lists which have some validation being performed.
Column 9 is a root cause column.
Column 10 is sub root cause.
  1. When I select a value in Column 9 it automatically displays a drop down list of values in column 10 based on the selection made in column 9
  2. If I change the value of column 9 the list in column 10 also updates

Currently the following works as desired.
  1. I select column 9 value and the correct drop down list displays in column 10 and is selectable with no errors
  2. I change the value in column 9 ad the list in column 10 changes accordingly to the correct drop down list with no errors
  3. If both cols 9 & 10 are populated and I select column 9 cell and hit delete, then column 10 is reset to a blank with no errors

The code below works and achieves what I want BUT if I mass select rows in the 2 columns mentioned above and hit delete, I get a run time error (see screenshot)
  • If I select both cols 9 and 10 values on a single row and hit delete the both cells for both columns reset to blank with no errors
  • I can select all the rows and columns of my table and hit delete with no errors occurring, but the run time occurs ONLY if I select multiple rows of the 2 columns 9 & 10 highlighted (for example if I wanted to clear all the rows where data exists for these 2 columns but leave the data in all the other cells then this run time occurs. )
I was told to put the statement into a loop but have no clue how to achieve that without breaking my current code or any of the above working points. When I do anything, something else breaks and its due to my limited Knowledge