Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column
Thanks Thanks: 0 Likes Likes: 0

  1. #11
    Board Regular sandy666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2,816
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    try select title and table

    if it doesn't work I have no more idea


    edit:
    or change browser
    Last edited by sandy666; Sep 2nd, 2019 at 02:12 PM.
    I know you know but I forgot my Crystal Ball and don't know what you know



    In the first post, show the type of machine (PC / Mac) and the Office version you are working on
    impossible things we do on the spot. for miracles you need to wait for a while

  2. #12
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,239
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    @sandy666
    Unfortunately, I get the same result. It looks like it is inserting a carriage return after every cell instead of just at the end of each row.
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

  3. #13
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,239
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    I am using Microsoft Edge. I tried copying from the site using both Internet Explorer and Google Chrome and it pasted correctly from both. So it must be something in Microsoft Edge but I have no idea what could be causing the problem in Edge but not in Explorer and Chrome .
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

  4. #14
    Board Regular sandy666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2,816
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    Edge is a unfinished trash
    so work with IE or Chrome
    I suggest Firefox or Opera
    I know you know but I forgot my Crystal Ball and don't know what you know



    In the first post, show the type of machine (PC / Mac) and the Office version you are working on
    impossible things we do on the spot. for miracles you need to wait for a while

  5. #15
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,239
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    Thanks for all your suggestions.
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

  6. #16
    Board Regular sandy666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2,816
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    you are welcome

    have a nice day
    I know you know but I forgot my Crystal Ball and don't know what you know



    In the first post, show the type of machine (PC / Mac) and the Office version you are working on
    impossible things we do on the spot. for miracles you need to wait for a while

  7. #17
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,031
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    Yeah, I thought you meant it grouped everything in a single cell, but it is actually transposing each row and pasting vertically. It has to be a setting somewhere in Excel, I don't believe a system setting would do that. I will look deeper.
    Last edited by JLGWhiz; Sep 2nd, 2019 at 06:59 PM.
    Using Windows 10, Excel 2013.
    Any code provided by me should be tested on a copy or a mock-up of your file before applying it to your original file. Some actions generated by VBA code cannot be reversed with the undo facility in Excel. To open the VB editor, press Alt + F11. To run code from the Excel window, press Alt + F8. Please do not attempt to learn everything about VBA in one thread, especially from me. See this link for attaching images: Attachments

  8. #18
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,031
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    @mumps - Here is all I could find on it. I couldn't test it because my version does not show the Set Default Paste option. But maybe one of yours does and you can try setting it to normal.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/155803/how...oft-word-2013/
    Using Windows 10, Excel 2013.
    Any code provided by me should be tested on a copy or a mock-up of your file before applying it to your original file. Some actions generated by VBA code cannot be reversed with the undo facility in Excel. To open the VB editor, press Alt + F11. To run code from the Excel window, press Alt + F8. Please do not attempt to learn everything about VBA in one thread, especially from me. See this link for attaching images: Attachments

  9. #19
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Peter_SSs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Macksville, Australia
    Posts
    40,974
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    21 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    Quote Originally Posted by mumps View Post
    So it must be something in Microsoft Edge ...
    I don't believe that it is Edge per se. I have just done a test with Edge (on the thread linked in post 6) & I was able to copy only the table and paste into Excel & it went perfectly into rows & columns. I normally use Chrome and I usually do have to copy a small amount of text from above the table as well as the table & tidy up a bit after pasting. So in this test today, in fact Edge was better than Chrome.
    Hope this helps, good luck.
    Peter
    Excel 365 - Windows 10
    - Want to help your helpers by posting a small, copyable, screen shot directly in your post? Look here
    - If posting vba code, please use Code Tags - like this [code]Paste code here[/code] - or use the # key in the Reply window
    - Read: Forum Rules, Forum Use Guidelines, & FAQ

  10. #20
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,239
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    @JLGWhiz
    Thank you for the link. I'll be out for the day but I will have a look at it and get back to you.
    @Peter_SSs
    Thank you Peter for your suggestion. I tried that approach and I got the same result. Copy/paste using Internet Explorer and Chrome worked properly. That is why I suspect the problem is with Edge. I reported this problem to Microsoft. Hopefully, they will get back to me.
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •