Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column
Thanks Thanks: 0 Likes Likes: 0

  1. #21
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    Peter_SSs's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Macksville, Australia
    Posts
    40,976
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    21 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    Quote Originally Posted by mumps View Post
    .. I got the same result.
    I'm not sure you did because for me Edge worked perfectly, just copying the table & pasting. You seem to be saying you are still having a problem with Edge.
    Hope this helps, good luck.
    Peter
    Excel 365 - Windows 10
    - Want to help your helpers by posting a small, copyable, screen shot directly in your post? Look here
    - If posting vba code, please use Code Tags - like this [code]Paste code here[/code] - or use the # key in the Reply window
    - Read: Forum Rules, Forum Use Guidelines, & FAQ

  2. #22
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,247
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    That's correct. I am still having the problem with Edge but not with Internet Explorer or Chrome.
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

  3. #23
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,247
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    @JLGWhiz
    I managed to have a look at your link. Thank you. Unfortunately, Excel doesn't have those options. The site also says: "By default, when you paste text copied from elsewhere into Word, you automatically get all the formatting with it." I assume the default for Excel is the same so the row/column format should be copied/pasted but it's not.
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

  4. #24
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,036
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    Quote Originally Posted by mumps View Post
    @JLGWhiz
    I managed to have a look at your link. Thank you. Unfortunately, Excel doesn't have those options. The site also says: "By default, when you paste text copied from elsewhere into Word, you automatically get all the formatting with it." I assume the default for Excel is the same so the row/column format should be copied/pasted but it's not.
    I just recalled that at one time I was having a problem copying and pasting from this web site (not any others) and was able to cure it by listing the site in the 'Compatibility View' list which is a 'Settings' option for the internet. I don't know if that can solve your browser issue though, since it apparently is the same with all web sites, not just one.
    Using Windows 10, Excel 2013.
    Any code provided by me should be tested on a copy or a mock-up of your file before applying it to your original file. Some actions generated by VBA code cannot be reversed with the undo facility in Excel. To open the VB editor, press Alt + F11. To run code from the Excel window, press Alt + F8. Please do not attempt to learn everything about VBA in one thread, especially from me. See this link for attaching images: Attachments

  5. #25
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,247
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    @JLGWhiz
    Thank you for that suggestion. Unfortunately, it happens with all web sites.
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

  6. #26
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,036
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    Quote Originally Posted by mumps View Post
    @JLGWhiz
    Thank you for that suggestion. Unfortunately, it happens with all web sites.
    Yeah, I just threw that in because it is somewhat related and might help someone else who is having browser problems with a specific site.
    Regards, JLG
    Using Windows 10, Excel 2013.
    Any code provided by me should be tested on a copy or a mock-up of your file before applying it to your original file. Some actions generated by VBA code cannot be reversed with the undo facility in Excel. To open the VB editor, press Alt + F11. To run code from the Excel window, press Alt + F8. Please do not attempt to learn everything about VBA in one thread, especially from me. See this link for attaching images: Attachments

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •