Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column
Thanks Thanks: 0 Likes Likes: 0

  1. #1
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,239
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    The title really says it all. If I copy data from a posted table or any form of posted data and paste it into an Excel worksheet, each column of data is pasted into one column, one underneath the other, instead of into rows and columns. Any help would be appreciated.
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

  2. #2
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,031
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    Pasting options on this forum are certainly limited, except for the highly skilled users. Almost everything, especially text, is in a single box.

    Go to this thread and see if you can copy to a sheet with data in different cells.

    https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/excel-...ate-range.html

    I was able to get the data to paste in separate cells on my system.
    Last edited by JLGWhiz; Sep 2nd, 2019 at 12:35 PM.
    Using Windows 10, Excel 2013.
    Any code provided by me should be tested on a copy or a mock-up of your file before applying it to your original file. Some actions generated by VBA code cannot be reversed with the undo facility in Excel. To open the VB editor, press Alt + F11. To run code from the Excel window, press Alt + F8. Please do not attempt to learn everything about VBA in one thread, especially from me. See this link for attaching images: Attachments

  3. #3
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,239
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    It's frustrating if I'm trying to help another forum member. I copy the data from the post into Excel so that I can test a possible solution but it's pasted into one column. I would have to manually input all the data into the corresponding rows and columns in order to work with it. I don't know exactly when this problem started (not too long ago) but I do know that I used to be able to copy posted data from the forum and paste it into an Excel sheet without any problems. I'm wondering if there are any settings that might affect copy/paste.
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

  4. #4
    Board Regular sandy666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2,818
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    out of curiosity: from which post you want to copy the table?
    I know you know but I forgot my Crystal Ball and don't know what you know



    In the first post, show the type of machine (PC / Mac) and the Office version you are working on
    impossible things we do on the spot. for miracles you need to wait for a while

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,031
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    The system would have to be set to remove all non printing characters (or similar) to cause that result, I would think. Have you checket your system settings lately to see how your paste parameters are set?
    Using Windows 10, Excel 2013.
    Any code provided by me should be tested on a copy or a mock-up of your file before applying it to your original file. Some actions generated by VBA code cannot be reversed with the undo facility in Excel. To open the VB editor, press Alt + F11. To run code from the Excel window, press Alt + F8. Please do not attempt to learn everything about VBA in one thread, especially from me. See this link for attaching images: Attachments

  6. #6
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,239
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    @sandy666
    I have tried with many posts but here is the link to one: https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/excel-...w-2-below.html
    I copy the posted data and when I paste it in A1 of a worksheet, it goes down the column.

    @JLGWhiz
    I looked at all the settings in Excel...Options but I couldn't find anything that applied. I'm not sure what you mean by "system settings".
    Last edited by mumps; Sep 2nd, 2019 at 12:58 PM.
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

  7. #7
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,031
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    25 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    Quote Originally Posted by mumps View Post
    @sandy666
    I have tried with many posts but here is the link to one: https://www.mrexcel.com/forum/excel-...w-2-below.html
    I copy the posted data and when I paste it in A1 of a worksheet, it goes down the column.

    @JLGWhiz
    I looked at all the settings in Excel...Options but I couldn't find anything that applied. I'm not sure what you mean by "system settings".
    You have some settings for Internet Options>Advanced that might affect how your data is managed for copy/paste. example using codecs for HTML. But I am not a tech so I don't know exactly which ones might cause such a problem. It does sound like a setting problem more that a bug.
    Using Windows 10, Excel 2013.
    Any code provided by me should be tested on a copy or a mock-up of your file before applying it to your original file. Some actions generated by VBA code cannot be reversed with the undo facility in Excel. To open the VB editor, press Alt + F11. To run code from the Excel window, press Alt + F8. Please do not attempt to learn everything about VBA in one thread, especially from me. See this link for attaching images: Attachments

  8. #8
    Board Regular sandy666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2,818
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Cool Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    hm, I can't reproduce your problem

    I know you know but I forgot my Crystal Ball and don't know what you know



    In the first post, show the type of machine (PC / Mac) and the Office version you are working on
    impossible things we do on the spot. for miracles you need to wait for a while

  9. #9
    Board Regular sandy666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2,818
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    32 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Cool Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column



    maybe try this way:

    imagine the table in the post has blank rows/columns around (yellow) and start selection from point A to point B not from start point of data

    I know you know but I forgot my Crystal Ball and don't know what you know



    In the first post, show the type of machine (PC / Mac) and the Office version you are working on
    impossible things we do on the spot. for miracles you need to wait for a while

  10. #10
    Board Regular mumps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8,239
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    90 Post(s)
    Tagged
    5 Thread(s)

    Default Re: When copying data from Forum threads, data is pasted into only one column

    @JLGWhiz
    Unfortunately, I couldn't find anything applicable.
    @sandy666
    This is what I get:4
    Excel 2010 32 bit
    SKU
    Type
    KW1
    KW2
    KW3
    SUM
    SKU1
    Actual Sales
    30
    41
    28
    99
    SKU1
    LY Sales
    46
    41
    25
    113
    SKU1
    Forecst
    40
    42
    43
    125
    SKU2
    Actual Sales
    1084
    793
    2022
    3899
    SKU2
    LY Sales
    950
    958
    765
    2672
    SKU2
    Forecst
    871
    790
    1659
    3320
    SKU3
    Actual Sales
    44
    24
    54
    123
    SKU3
    LY Sales
    3
    46
    40
    150
    SKU3
    Forecst
    44
    41
    40
    125
    SKU4
    Actual Sales
    655
    379
    284
    1318
    SKU4
    LY Sales
    343
    257
    329
    929
    SKU4
    Forecst
    641
    265
    342
    1247
    SKU5
    Actual Sales
    0
    0
    0
    0
    SKU5
    LY Sales
    1042
    1042
    SKU5
    Forecst
    5
    5
    SKU6
    Actual Sales
    SKU6
    LY Sales
    60
    47
    58
    164
    SKU6
    Forecst
    SKU7
    Actual Sales
    0
    0
    0
    0
    SKU7
    LY Sales
    66
    71
    47
    184
    SKU7
    Forecst
    Sheet: Sheet1
    I tried it with Excel 2010 and Excel 2013 ad got the same result. I'm thinking it must be a setting outside of Excel but I can't figure out what that is.
    Last edited by mumps; Sep 2nd, 2019 at 02:01 PM.
    Practice makes perfect. I'm very far from perfect so I'm still practising.

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •