Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

  1. #1
    Board Regular MrKowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    6,648
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

    Since vBulliten was programmed with Internet Explorer in mind, the forums here do not play too well with Mozilla Firefox (which many prefer over the bulky and insecure IE). Common problems one might run into when using Mozilla Firefox is tables don't copy/paste properly into Excel; when copying code from the boards and pasting into a new post, Firefox tends to paste it wrong; and other general alignment issues.

    Fear not! There is a nice add-on for Firefox called "IE Tab 2". This allows you to force the Internet Explorer engine onto any website you want (both manually and automatically).


    Here's how to get this add-on, and how to get it to work for the MrExcel forums:
    1. Navigate to the IE Tab 2 Download Page
    2. Press the "Add to Firefox Button", and follow the on-screen prompts.
    3. After it is installed, you will be prompted to restart Firefox. Do so.
    4. Once Firefox is restarted, go to Tools>Add-Ons (CTRL+SHIFT+A)
    5. In the Add-ons Manager, go to the "Extensions" tab, and locate "IE Tab 2 (FF 3.6+) 3.5.9.1" (Note: Your version may be newer)
    6. Select this Add-on and choose "Options"
    7. Under the "Sites Filter" tab, enter "http://www.mrexcel.com/*" into the URL field:
    8. Press "Add", then "Apply", then "OK"
    Now, whenever you navigate to any website with the prefix "http://www.mrexcel.com/", the website will automatically switch to the Internet Explorer engine. The only noticable difference you will see is that the icon in the webpage tab will be an Internet Explorer icon rather than a Firefox icon, however the webpage will function as if you ran it directly in Internet Explorer!

    I hope this helps everyone who, like me, enjoy the speed and security of Firefox over Internet Explorer!
    Last edited by MrKowz; Jun 27th, 2011 at 10:57 AM.
    - Posting guidelines, forum rules and terms of use
    - Try searching for your answer first, see how
    - Read the FAQs
    - List of BB codes
    - Please use [CODE] [/CODE] tags when posting your VBA code. It retains spacing, so your code is easier to read, and therefore easier to debug.
    - Please back up your file before using any macros suggested!

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    SydneyGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    12,255
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

    Thanks, that's useful

    Denis
    Self-preservation: For when you've got yourself in a jam
    ------------------------------------------------------
    My site contains a number of Excel and Access Resources

  3. #3
    Board Regular
    mmmm Pizza
    Sandeep Warrier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    2,672
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

    Nice one!

    Copy-pasting tables at times got very irritating.

    Thanks!
    Regards,
    Sandeep


    You can post sample data using any one of the following ways:

    1. Richard Schollar's HTML Maker
    2. Excel Jeanie
    3. Border Copy Paste

    Use code tags [CODE]'Your Code[/CODE]
    for posting codes.

  4. #4
    Board Regular MrKowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    6,648
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

    Update:

    Another couple noticable differences you may see is that you cannot CTRL+TAB to switch between tabs, and you cannot CTRL+CLICK or MIDDLE-CLICK to open a link in a new tab. To open a link in a new tab, you must right click on the link and "Open In New Window". This will create a new tab for the link instead of another instance of Firefox. Note, when you "Open In New Window", the link you navigate to will run under the Internet Explorer engine.

    If you wish to switch back to Firefox at any time (even on a filtered webpage), you can RIGHT-CLICK on the tab and choose "Switch rendering engine".
    - Posting guidelines, forum rules and terms of use
    - Try searching for your answer first, see how
    - Read the FAQs
    - List of BB codes
    - Please use [CODE] [/CODE] tags when posting your VBA code. It retains spacing, so your code is easier to read, and therefore easier to debug.
    - Please back up your file before using any macros suggested!

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    mmmm Pizza
    Sandeep Warrier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    2,672
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

    It also doesn't take any settings saved in FF (passwords etc.)
    Regards,
    Sandeep


    You can post sample data using any one of the following ways:

    1. Richard Schollar's HTML Maker
    2. Excel Jeanie
    3. Border Copy Paste

    Use code tags [CODE]'Your Code[/CODE]
    for posting codes.

  6. #6
    Board Regular MrKowz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    6,648
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by Sandeep Warrier View Post
    It also doesn't take any settings saved in FF (passwords etc.)
    Hmm - I wonder if it takes saved passwords and such from the IE cache. I'll try to test that out tomorrow. Thanks for the info!
    - Posting guidelines, forum rules and terms of use
    - Try searching for your answer first, see how
    - Read the FAQs
    - List of BB codes
    - Please use [CODE] [/CODE] tags when posting your VBA code. It retains spacing, so your code is easier to read, and therefore easier to debug.
    - Please back up your file before using any macros suggested!

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    50
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by MrKowz View Post
    ... the bulky and insecure IE ...
    That's no longer an accurate statement.

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

    OK thanx I need this!

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

    Hello all,
    I have to ask a question about the issue I'm having with viewing posts of others which contain the HTMLmaker. As you know, the cells within the mini-spreadsheet contain hyperlinks, which I'm under the impression you can click on them to view the contents of the cell. Is that still accurate?

    I have literally tried viewing the same thread (which I believe to contain the answer I need! lol) with three different browsers on this laptop, and I've also attempted to click on the same hyperlinks with Firefox on two other laptops in my home.

    I saw no relevant threads on this forum regarding this, but a simple internet search yields three viable solutions (which work for some people who posted their thanks). None of these helped to load the page.

    So, here is the error: "URL is not valid and cannot be loaded" (if it helps it is in this thread - http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=113219 but seems to be all threads). I bet it will load just fine at work, oddly enough! But come to think of it, I may have already tried viewing one.

    Could my IP have anything to do with it, or my D-Link router? I don't think it would be my noscript or adblock plus add-ons in FF. I've also disabled pop-up blocker for each browser I've tried.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: How to fix Firefox Compatability Issues

    I forgot to add that I've also ensured my Java is enabled. It looks like the hyperlinks within the HTML Maker cells reference a webpage that should be loading? When I hover my mouse over it, the address preview reads:
    http:///#javascript<b></b>:void(0);
    ... for all the hyperlinks within the table.

    Is this a question for this section of the boards, or is it something support related?

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •