Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Calling Easy-XL from VBA
Thanks Thanks: 0 Likes Likes: 0

  1. #1
    . MrExcel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Merritt Island Florida
    Posts
    873
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Calling Easy-XL from VBA

    Easy-XL does a lot of cool data analysis tricks. I've been interested in seeing if you could leverage Easy-XL from VBA. Could I write some VBA code which would call Easy-XL and issue Easy-XL commands?

    John from the development team at Easy-XL has done something fairly amazing. He modified Easy-XL to (a) detect if the macro recorder is running and (b) generate VBA code so you can learn the syntax of how to call Easy-XL from VBA. Thus, you can record macros that will include Easy-XL commands.

    This is still very much in beta. If you would like to try it out, download from the secret beta location: http://www.easy-xl.com/ez/downloads/beta/easy-xl.msi. Since it is a beta, please don't use this in your production files yet. Make copies of your data and test there. Post any issues here.

    Bill
    View a collection of recent Excel articles in the Excel Daily News

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Calling Easy-XL from VBA

    The current version of Easy-XL does produce VBA empty routines:

    Sub Macro1()
    '
    ' Macro1 Macro
    '

    '
    Dim EasyXLTestCode
    Dim EasyXLTestCode
    End Sub


    What is wrong here? Do have to change something in Excel or in the EasyXL add-in?

    Many thanks for your help!

    Kind regards,
    Dominik

  3. #3
    Board Regular Easy-XL Support's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    140
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Calling Easy-XL from VBA

    Easy-XL emits "Dim EasyXLTestCode" to the macro recorder to see if the recorder is recording an Excel macro. If the recorder is not active, this code should be ignored and not inserted into the macro recorder's code buffer.

    That is not supposed to happen! Can you reproduce this problem and if so would you please tell me what steps you took to create this macro?

    What version of Excel are you using?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Calling Easy-XL from VBA

    Hi,

    Many thanks for your reply.

    Yes, I could reproduce this issue with Excel 2007 on my laptop in the office and on my PC at home.

    Steps:
    - Open the sample Workbook provided by EasyXL
    - Click on the 'Developer' tab
    - Start the Macro Recorder
    - Click on the 'EasyXL' tab
    - Activate the sheet 'Invoices 2011'
    - Choose 'Summarize/Pivot' on the EasyXL Ribbon
    - Group by: Sales Person / Columns to Summarize: Amount
    - Click 'Finished'
    - Watch how hard Excel/EasyXL is working
    - Stop the Macro Recorder and open the created Macro:
    Sub Macro1()
    '
    ' Macro1 Macro
    '

    '
    Dim EasyXLTestCode
    Dim EasyXLTestCode
    End Sub



    I hope this helps. Let me know if I am doing something wrong.

    All the best for finding a lot of easter eggs!

    Dominik

  5. #5
    Board Regular Easy-XL Support's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    140
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Calling Easy-XL from VBA

    I have been able to recreate the problem. I am investigating a fix for it now.

  6. #6
    Board Regular Easy-XL Support's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    140
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Calling Easy-XL from VBA

    You need to turn on "Trust access to the VBA project object module" in Trust Center Macro Settings:

    Excel 2007: Excel Options -> Trust Center -> Trust Center Settings -> Macro Settings -> Trust access to the VBA project object module.

    Please let me know how it goes.

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •