Questions about Tagging and Merge Worksheets

This is a discussion on Questions about Tagging and Merge Worksheets within the Easy-XL Add-In forums, part of the MrExcel Products category; Hi, I'm new to using this addon for Excel and would like some help with some of its features please. ...

Question Questions about Tagging and Merge Worksheets

Hi, I'm new to using this addon for Excel and would like some help with some of its features please.

Here's a sample data:

Sheet 1:
    Person_ID Company
    1 A
    2 A
    3 A

Sheet 2:
    ID Company Name
    1 B Joe
    2 B Bob
    4 B Mary

Now, what I would like to do is to join these 2 worksheets together on the matching primary key columns, which is "Person_ID" and "ID". The problem is, it doesn't seem like Easy-XL allow this as the columns are named differently. So to fix this, I had to name ID in Sheet 2 to "Person_ID" so that it's the same name as Sheet 1.

This seemed counter-productive to me because a JOIN is quite a trivial feature and any database software should allow that easily. Assuming that if I have multiple workbooks with multiple sheets to work with, each of them with different column headers but with the same underlying data, then I would have to rename those column headers to match and that would be inefficient isn't it? BTW, most of these data are given to me by my clients so that's why they are inconsistent.

Anyway, now I want to combine the worksheets, but there's a catch. If there are matching IDs found, then we want to keep the data of the matching column(s) from Sheet 1 and add any new data from Sheet 2.

Here's how the result should look:

ID Company Name
    1 A Joe
    2 A Bob
    3 A
    4 B Mary