VBA code with IF and Vlookup formula's

clau818

Hello all!

First I'd like to thank everyone in advance who helps me out with this! I don't know where I'd be in life without this forum, you guys are all absolute geniuses!

So now to my questions.

I am trying to create some vba code and I'm fairly new to this. I am trying to create a code that uses a vlookup formula based on a certain condition (IF statement).

There are two parts to my code.

First, I want the code to scan all of my data and if the word "Freight" appears in column F, I want a Vlookup to be performed in the same row but in column H. In the rows where the word "Freight" does not appear, I don't want anything done because there will already be data in those cells.

Here is what the formula would look like if not done in VBA. This causes a circular reference that I would prefer not to have.

=IF($F1="Freight",VLOOKUP($E1,'Summary Invoicing'!$F:$P,11,FALSE),$H1)

In the second part of my code I want it to once again scan all of my data and if the word "Freight" appears in column F, I want a Vlookup to be performed in the same row but in column I. If the word "Freight" does not appear in column F, I want it to remain blank.

Here is what the formula would look like if not done in VBA.

=IF($F1="Freight",VLOOKUP($E1,'HJ Tracking Numbers'!$B:$F,5,FALSE)," ")

Thanks so much!

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
Hello,

Do not hesitate to post your current code ...

Cheers

Upvote 0
Don't have Excel at the moment, so UNTESTED..

Code:
Sub MM1()
Dim lr As Long, r As Long
lr = Cells(Rows.Count, "B").End(xlUp).Row
For r = 1 To lr
    If Range("F" & r).Value = "Freight" Then
        Range("H" & r).Formula = "=VLOOKUP($E" & r & ",'Summary Invoicing'!$F:$P,11,FALSE)"