based upon specific cells by pulling data from multiple sheets

Status
Not open for further replies.

katie87

I'm really new to VBA and Excel, I know a few bits and I have created validation lists and a macro to rename the sheetname depending on what text is entered into a certain cell etc.

I don't really know where to begin with creating a macro to report back a list of sheet names onto the "overview/master" sheet if a certain cell on any of the other sheets contains a specific word. What is complicating this matter is I need it to reference a different cell on each sheet, depending on which options are selected from the two drop down boxes on the overview sheet. All in the same workbook btw.

In the most basic form, what I have created is an "OVERVIEW" sheet. This has two drop down boxes (using data validation lists) on it. It has two drop down lists, one contains the text Grade 1, Grade 2 etc) and the other drop down box contains levels e.g. Foundation, Intermediate, Expert etc. Each list has 5 entries.
The rest of the sheets contain a grid matrix 5 rows on the vertical axis (Grade 1-5) and 5 columns on the horizontal axis(levels, eg foundation/intermediate/expert.) Each sheet is the exactly the same template, same reference in the same cells etc. This will then be filled in when someone finishes grade 1 foundation, the box in the matrix that refers to that level would be filled with the text "completed" on that particular sheet. Each person has their own sheet so they will either say completed/in progress/not done depending on who has done what.