Risk formatting on a single Cell

Chris Waller

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi everyone,

I am using Excel 2010 and I would like to be able to colour a cell in relation to the risk status i.e. red, red/amber, amber/green, green and the shades in between each. I do not want to put any text in the cells, I would just like a way of being able to change the colour of the cell using something like a slider or any other way, whichever is easier and does the job. Any help would be greatly appreciated. If the result necessitated using VBA, I would like to be spoon fed as I am not very good with VBA. TIA

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
I'm not sure about Excel 2010, but this can easily be done in the up-to-date version of Excel by using Conditional Formatting and a Scroll Bar.

It sounds like you want a nearly continuous gradation of colours from red to green. I chose 10 steps to correspond to your risk statuses.

In cell A1 I put a number between 1 and 10, like 7. Go to Conditional Formatting and create a New rule. Format cells based on their values. Format style 3-colour scale. Select Type number for Minimum, Midpoint and Maximum. Enter 1 for Minimum, 5 for Midpoint and 10 for Maximum and select red, amber, green, respectively. Select Ok all the way out. Change the number in A1 to see the fill-colour of A1 change.

Select Developer, Insert and under Form Control select Scroll Bar (Form Control). Draw the scroll bar horizontally next to cell A1. Right-click, Format control, Minimum 1, Maximum 10, Increment 1, Page 1, Cell link click on cell A1. Ok.

To hide the number in A1, select A1, right-click , Format Cells, Number, Category, Custom, and type three semicolons in the Type box ;;; and then Ok.